Optical in a quicksilver

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by kingcrowing, Jul 5, 2005.

  1. kingcrowing macrumors 6502a

    kingcrowing

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    #1
    how do i switch out the optical drive in a quicksilver? thanks
     
  2. neonart macrumors 65816

    neonart

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2002
    Location:
    Near a Mac since 1993.
    #2
  3. homerjward macrumors 68030

    homerjward

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Location:
    fig tree
    #3
    http://www.info.apple.com/usen/cip/pdf/g4/g4qd-cddvddrive.pdf (PDF)

    http://www.info.apple.com/usen/cip/html/g4qs/g4qs-dvddrive-cip.mov.html (Video)

    those are apple's instructions :)

    as far as drives go i like lite-on because they're cheap, they work, they're the short kind and the retail packages come with both nero and powerdvd (of course those would both be useless to you, a mac user ;))

    that's assuming you'd like a dvd burner, which is probably a good idea as a good one (16x, DL, name brand) can be had for less than $50 online.

    you'll also need patchburn for os x and all of your apps to recognize it

    http://www.patchburn.de

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16827129161

    that's the same drive shipping in the new g5s

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16827106988

    and that's the lite-on i'd recommend but im not sure afa mac compatibility

    :)
     
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    You will probably have to take the front door off the drive,'s tray, because the QS has those freaky oval shaped openings in the bezel. Or you can attack the bezel with a file to give clearance.
     
  5. shadowmoses macrumors 68000

    shadowmoses

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    #5
    Its very easy to change the optical drive on Quicksilvers. As for the drive you will need to clip off the front of it when its open so that it doesnt clip or get caught in the quicksilver's door....

    ShadoW
     
  6. krimson macrumors 65816

    krimson

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Location:
    Democratic People's Republic of Kalifornia
    #6
    If you get a Pioneer DVR-108 or 109 you dont need to remove the front tray plate. I didn't and my door works fine.
     

Share This Page