OS X setupprebindings still PPC?!

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Simon R., Mar 5, 2007.

  1. Simon R. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    #1
    I am on a mac pro and noticed that the "setupprebindin" (or whatever that task is called), is running in PPC mode?!!? Why on earth hasnt that been updated to Intel like almost all of the other processes. Seems strange.

    On another note, I wondered why Adobe Reader is so slow: It's also still PPC. Sheesh...
     
  2. pianos101 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Location:
    Philly Area
  3. Daiden macrumors 6502a

    Daiden

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #3
    Yeah, PPC apps are the worst for Intel Macs. I tried running Final Cut Pro on my Macbook Pro (the PPC version of FCP), and it was literally a slideshow.

    Gotta get FCP 5.1 from work to put on this sucker. :D
     
  4. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #4
    With each revision, more of the OS is ported over. At first, the key parts and processes were done. Leopard should take care of most of what is left would think. In the meantime, what isn't Intel code runs under emulation.

    That is why Apple was so quick at moving from Mac OS 9 to Mac OS X. FWIW, the same type of transition was done during the move from the 68 chip sets to the PPC chip sets.
     
  5. g-7 macrumors 6502

    g-7

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Location:
    Poland
    #5
    Get the latest version. Adobe Reader 8 is available for some time, and it's Universal.
     
  6. gnasher729 macrumors Pentium

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #6
    That's not the reason. Try this: Find "Preview" in the application folder, Get Info, turn "Open using Rosetta" on so that it runs as a PowerPC application. It is not quite as fast as before, but it is still fast.
     
  7. Simon R. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    #7
    I am using V8. It still runs in Rosetta. Are you sure it is a UB yet? I can't find any indication of that anywhere. All it says at the Adobe site is that it works under Intel, really. Which it does. But I always wondered why it is much slower on my Mac Pro than my old 2.6Ghz P4...
     
  8. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #8
    This doesn't make sense, since they've had OS X running on x86 all along. Not that it's not a huge job switching everything to Intel, but hmm. Well maybe they didn't have 100% of OS X built for Intel since it wasn't public.
     
  9. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #9
    Preview opens PDFs way faster than Adobe Reader doesn't it? What exactly is the point of Adobe Reader on a Mac anymore? Does it have some other very important features?
     
  10. MacsAttack macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #10
    Not much :D

    To be fair, I was sent some PDFs of proof to look over and they did not open correctly in Preview - so I had to haul out Acrobat.
     

Share This Page