OSX crashes when unplugging headphones?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Chrispy, Jun 11, 2006.

  1. Chrispy macrumors 68020

    Chrispy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Location:
    Avon, IN
    #1
    Hey all. I have a Black MB and it has the whine and mooing. Also, when I unplug the headphones, sometimes the computer will crash. I get that screen in OSX that says I must power down the computer by holding down the power button. Has anyone else noticed this? It has done it with both my headphones and speakers... but it does not do it every time.
     
  2. mmmcheese macrumors 6502a

    mmmcheese

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    #2
    That's bizarre...

    Maybe try reinstalling. A bit extreme, but there might be some weird corrupted driver files or something.
     
  3. realityisterror macrumors 65816

    realityisterror

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Location:
    Snellville, GA
    #3
    I am going to say, without a doubt, that you have the absolute worst luck with computers of anyone. :p

    I assume you've tried a reinstall? And you've called Apple? It sounds like a hardware problem, and I've never heard anything of it before... :confused:
     
  4. Chrispy thread starter macrumors 68020

    Chrispy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Location:
    Avon, IN
    #4
    I will try to reinstall the OS. Calling Apple is about as helpful and sticking a band-aid over the headphone jack and calling it fixed. They will just tell me they can't help me without sending it in for repair which I am not doing on a day old unit. Sigh... anyone else seen this?
     
  5. mmmcheese macrumors 6502a

    mmmcheese

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    #5
    Lots of people are too proud to reinstall, but it is a good troubleshooting technique. If you call Apple, they will suggest doing it. If you've already done it, you can usually get service/other suggestions faster.
     
  6. bentley macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    #6
    that happened one time on my black MB but only once and I use my headphones alot.
     
  7. idea_hamster macrumors 65816

    idea_hamster

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Location:
    NYC, or thereabouts
    #7
    I suggest that you talk to Apple -- if you have access to an Apple store, I would definitely take it to the Genius Bar and have them look at it.

    The message you're getting is a kernel panic, the unix equivalent of Windows's BSOD. In Macs it is most commonly caused by a hardware problem, like a bad stick of RAM or an unsupported peripheral.

    When I was using OSX.1, I would get a kernel panic without fail whenever I disconnected my Intuos tablet. For me the upgrade to Jaguar helped because 10.2 had better tablet support.

    Unfortunately, headphones are not new, so it may turn out to be a small defect in the actual headphone socket board in your Mac. The fix may be inconvenient, but if this is a reproduceable kernel panic, then it won't fix itself.

    If you can't do without your Mac, consider getting Pro Care. The $99 price tag is steep, but you do really get white glove service, plus a bunch of other stuff. A friend of mine needed a logic board replacement on his MBP and his turn-around time dropped from 3-5 days to 7 hours with Pro Care.

    Hope all goes well!
     
  8. Xander562 macrumors 68000

    Xander562

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    #8
    wow, WINBLOWS XP doesnt even do that! (i feel left out i still dont have a mac)




    -- just a joke peoples dont get too mad
     
  9. Scarlet Fever macrumors 68040

    Scarlet Fever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bookshop!
    #9
    the volume changes when you plug in or pull out headphones (or anything from the port), so it probably is a software issue. Re-install and see if that does anything.
     
  10. JackSYi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    #10
    Reinstalling won't work. Been there, done that, got the t-shirt. I have the EXACT same problem. If you google: macbook kernel panic headphones, you will find that A LOT of people have this problem and since it doesn't happen every time, its most likely a software problem that can be fixed with an update.
     
  11. JackSYi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    #11
    This seems to be happening to a lot of people. I read in the support forums at apple.com and one user went into Apple and they said to trash library/preferences/com.apple/frontrow.plist . I don't know if I want to trash it. I'm hoping it will be resolved.
     
  12. Copland macrumors regular

    Copland

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #12
    The file will come back.:)
    Seems a bit odd that Frontrow would be the problem, though...

    They'll probably say it's "Within Spec".:rolleyes:
     
  13. JackSYi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    #13
    Yeah you're right. Stupid Applecare man. Hopefully its fixed in 10.4.7
     

Share This Page