Over Weight iTunes?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by quigleybc, Dec 27, 2005.

  1. quigleybc macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #1
    My iTunes library is getting really fat, obese even...

    Closing in on 100 gigs.

    Is there a cap to the amount of songs/gigs one can store and still have iTunes correctly index them and play them?

    I bought a new external HD, so I plan on the iTunes Library getting even fatter.

    Thoughts?
     
  2. croshtique macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    #2
    I don't think there is a maximum size that the iTunes library can cope with; but if you're going to have some music on an external HD and some on your main HD make sure you turn off the "Copy files to iTunes Music folder when adding to library" option in the prefs.
     
  3. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #3
    100GB is child's play. I personally only have about 70GB but I've used 600GB libraries with no issues. It's not even noticeably slower or anything like that. I would have expected it to at least slow down the scrolling.
     
  4. alexstein macrumors 6502a

    alexstein

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    #4

    Are you guys collecting all the songs that were ever recorded? :D :confused:
    My library reached 20GB and I'm freaking out!!:cool:
     
  5. quigleybc thread starter macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #5



    I am trying to have a massive jukebox of tunes, but obviously every song would be impossible.

    Also, I have a lot of my own tracks recorded in Ableton Live and Logic, and they are saved in AIFF format, so they are all quite large.

    600 Gig libraries, nice, now that's what I wanted to hear..

    Onward and Upward!
    :D
     
  6. ignus graius macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
  7. AP_piano295 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    #7
    and all in a package so small it's invisible to the naked eye.
     
  8. frankblundt macrumors 65816

    frankblundt

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    South of the border
    #8
    shuffle issues

    i have 400Gb (60,000 tracks) in my library, and it does run a little slow, sometimes hesitating when scrolling and switching tracks, on my B&W350. The only major issue i have with it is my shuffle won't autofill from the library, only from playlists - i don't know if this happened once i went over about 50K tracks or when i changed to iTunes 5 from 4 around the same time, but it just locks and dies - the iPod/iTunes updates haven't fixed it so far.
     
  9. quigleybc thread starter macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #9

    Shuffle's are wacky devices, I think they just act strange sometimes, no matter how big the library is..mine has too.

    I don't really bother with the auto fill though.
     
  10. quigleybc thread starter macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #10

    Well Done! I applaud you :)

    Now, are they compressed tracks, or Lossless?

    cuz 400 gigs of compressed tracks would be really really impressive.
     
  11. frankblundt macrumors 65816

    frankblundt

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    South of the border
    #11
    compressed

    mostly at 224 with a few 128 - i started out doing them as AAC but mostly do mp3 now for wider compatibility. Started ripping my vinyl collection too now, but it's a pretty slow process cutting up the tracks so i'm mostly just doing old stuff that never got re-released onto cd and the odd rare 12".
    i like the shuffle autofill - it gives me a chance to re-discover stuff i'd forgotten about - and making playlists out of a library this size is a bit tedious. maybe if i upgraded to a G4 it would be a bit smoother.
     
  12. quigleybc thread starter macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #12

    Ya it probably would be.
     
  13. spacepower7 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    #13
    I have about 180gigs (34,000+) songs and iTunes has definitely gotten slower.

    I have a DP 1.25 G4 1.25gig RAM
     
  14. frankblundt macrumors 65816

    frankblundt

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    South of the border
    #14
    so you think i'd better get a dual G5 just to run iTunes?
     
  15. frankblundt macrumors 65816

    frankblundt

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    South of the border
    #15
    what i'm really waiting for is a scaled up iPod with a 3.5" hard drive, a remote and a/v out, like what the mini could have been. maybe in January?
     
  16. quigleybc thread starter macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #16


    That seems a bit over the top, but hey why not! oh ya they're expensive...

    It would be sweet to have a mini just for iTunes...but, again, over the top...

    But then, so are 600 and 400 gig iTunes libraries..
     
  17. frankblundt macrumors 65816

    frankblundt

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    South of the border
    #17
    what i'd be interested in knowing is what the minimum upgrade i'd need is to run this kind of library comfortably - my g3 350 can certainly do it, but i get the spinning wheel a lot (it is running as a web server also tho) - would a 1.25 mini be enough?
     

Share This Page