Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Gutter Ball

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 27, 2004
Hello, I'm a newbie here but have used Macs for over 10 at my job. I have a G4 dual 1gig system that has never really run right. I get random hangs, the system just freezes no mouse movement nothing. Today I reinstalled OS X to try and fix the issue to no avial. The room its in is a bit warm but not uncomfortable to work in. The system is in a good spot for air circulation. I guess my question is: Is it normal for the processor heatsink to be so hot that you cant hold your hand to it very long? This one is HOT, this was my first G4 system so I don't have anything to compare it to.

Thanks for any feedback you can provide.

Makosuke

macrumors 604
Aug 15, 2001
The Cool Part of CA, USA
Well, I have the exact same machine sitting under my desk right now, and it's been on in a cool (cold, really) room, running at near idle for about an hour. The heatsink is definitely hot to the touch, and although I could probably keep my hand on it, it wouldn't be comfortable near the middle. I expect it would be hotter if the room was warmer, or I'd been running the computer harder (I think; not sure if the G4 uses more power when it's doing something).

I doubt your heatsink temperature is abnormal--they do tend to get VERY hot these days--you should feel how much heat comes out of the back of a G5, and I've seen videos of AMD Althlon chips literally burning themselves when the heatsink is removed. Downloading a temperature check app will tell you what the processor is actually registering, though, if you're suspicious.