pantone choices in illustrator

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by tylerboyo, Mar 10, 2007.

  1. tylerboyo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    #1
    hey, i got a big project for my deisng course in uni, we need to use pantone colours, so basiclaly choosing them before we develop the idea too much. what i want to know, is how to i apply the pantone colors, from the booklet, to illustrator and photoshop. i know how to do it in quark, was just wondering with the adobe suite.
    thanks in advance
     
  2. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #2
    Illustrator: Menu: Window>Swatch Libraries>Pantone... 9 kinds in CS1

    Photoshop: A bit more problematic as for genuine spot colours, you'll have to work in PSD, EPSs or PDFs or even DCS... unless you work in greyscale/bitmap and colour the files up in your page-layout software. Anyway, the Pantone libraries are available under 'custom' in the Colour Picker. Or in the Swatches palette, click the top-right little triangle...
     
  3. tylerboyo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    #3
    many thanks blue velvet, appreciated. thanks.
     
  4. AlexisV macrumors 68000

    AlexisV

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #4
    You're best off sticking with solid coated colours :)
     
  5. Sdashiki macrumors 68040

    Sdashiki

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Behind the lens
    #5
    not if the paper and final product are to be matte and not glossy.
     
  6. TJIrwin macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    London, UK
    #6
    Agreed. Found that one out the hard way.
     
  7. Sdashiki macrumors 68040

    Sdashiki

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Behind the lens
    #7
    this is why they have those fancy but uber expensive books and card samples of every pantone color. my work supplies me with some, and they said its only been here since last year, and I was like, are you freakin serious? All we do is use Pantones!

    oh, and they are only good for like 1 year, or the colors fade. (so the company says...)
     
  8. TJIrwin macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    London, UK
    #8
    I got mine wrapped in a bing bag, in the box, at the back of my drawer. I'd love to see the colour fade its way out of that one!
     
  9. Mookamoo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #9
    Remember if you specify a Pantone colour and then print it in CYMK it will look totally different.
     
  10. Sdashiki macrumors 68040

    Sdashiki

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Behind the lens
    #10
    not if the company printing it notices your swatches are marked as Pantone colors, then they will print at that pantone color, just like your swatch should.
     
  11. AlexisV macrumors 68000

    AlexisV

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #11
    I'll rephrase :)

    You're best off sticking with solid coated ... for this job ie. a uni project which isn't going to professional print.

    Uncoated will look a bit washed out printed to inkjet or colour laser.

    But you'd have to decide spot colours and process colours before hand, when getting quotes initially.
     
  12. TheAtwookie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    #12
    However, if you have access to a Pantone swatch book, there should be a CYMK "equivilant" listed. I've used those in the past for some of my smaller jobs where I didn't want to pay for pantone inks and it worked fairly well.
     
  13. aricher macrumors 68020

    aricher

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Location:
    Chi-il
    #13
    CMYK not CYMK
     
  14. TheAtwookie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    #14
    Whoops! I had a momentary bout of Lysdexia.
     
  15. zero2dash macrumors 6502a

    zero2dash

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Location:
    Fenton, MO
    #15
    On 4 color press/4 color process...yes.

    On a digital copier...no, not if the copier has a native Pantone system in place. We have 2 digital color copiers (which are CMYK obviously) where I work that both have PMS color matching and print PMS colors correctly and true to color.
     

Share This Page