Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

efsad

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 5, 2011
Hi everyone,

I'm pretty new to AppleScript and want to write a fairly basic script that logs me into a website that has the irritating trait of logging me out every 15 minutes. The website's on a medium security level for me: I'm OK having a script constantly log into it, but I'd like to avoid people getting in if at all possible. Of course, I could just write a script telling it to put in my username and password, but if some unscrupulous person gets hold of my computer, the plain-English nature of AppleScript will probably make my password pretty obvious.

So, the question is...does anyone know of a way to get around putting the password directly in the script? An idea I had is having an encrypted .txt file with the password and the script somehow decrypting it, but I'm not really sure how to go about doing that or whether that's even any more secure. If the file's just encrypted with another password, then that password will have to go in the script, of course. I also thought about turning the script into an app, but again, I don't know if that's any better.

Thanks in advance!

PS I've tried this: https://www.google.com/#hl=en&tbo=d...ut+in+password&oq=applescript+put+in+password and this: https://www.google.com/#hl=en&tbo=d...ssword&oq=applescript+securely+enter+password, plus a few more similar searches, but all I've really found is some stuff about Terminal that doesn't seem relevant, and this: http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/archive/1090217 which goes to no lengths to secure the password. This feels like a question somebody must have had before and I don't want to spam the forum, but I can't seem to find anything...apologies if I missed something.

chown33

Staff member
Aug 9, 2009
A sea of green