Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

galveston

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 9, 2003
I am going to be purchasing a powerbook in the next few weeks and will be selling my 466 G4 desktop once I do. Before it goes though, i plan on pulling the 80 gig drive that i installed as a second drive and using it as a firewire drive with the PB with the help of a FW enclosure. I've never used one of these cases before and was wondering how mobile I can expect to be with it. Is it equal to buying an external harddrive? Or is it better off left at home and used when the computer serves as my desktop's replacement?

Thanks!

-AP

bousozoku

Moderator emeritus
Jun 25, 2002
Lard
I have an 3.5 inch 80 GB 5400 rpm FireWire drive from Maxtor. To be blunt, it's heavy. I take it to school with me, along with the power supply and I generally have to remove a couple of things from the backup. In any case, it's better than relying on the Zip disks everyone else is using, which fail so quickly.

Balin64

macrumors 6502a
Jul 23, 2002
In a Mauve Dream
Re: Portability of Fire Wire enclosures

Originally posted by galveston
I am going to be purchasing a powerbook in the next few weeks and will be selling my 466 G4 desktop once I do. Before it goes though, i plan on pulling the 80 gig drive that i installed as a second drive and using it as a firewire drive with the PB with the help of a FW enclosure. I've never used one of these cases before and was wondering how mobile I can expect to be with it. Is it equal to buying an external harddrive? Or is it better off left at home and used when the computer serves as my desktop's replacement?

Thanks!

-AP