Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

tg_nyc

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 11, 2016
New York City, NY
Hi everyone, I'm posting this thread because I'm one of those people who spent a small fortune on a new 15" MacBook Pro with Touch Bar and was freaking out watching his battery dwindle to about 2-3 hours per charge. I tried all of the workarounds, called Apple tech support, and searched all of the forums. Something I read on one of the Apple Support Community forums led me to try something pretty simple that (hopefully) solved my issue. When I first brought my new MBP home I used Migration Assistant to transfer all of my docs over from my old to my new Mac. I'm no expert but it appears that something relating to the process of using Migration Assistant resulted in my decreased & wonky battery life (like the charge and time remaining bouncing all over the place). I backed all of my stuff up onto an external drive, did a clean install of OS Sierra, and then copied my files back onto the new laptop, and now all day I have been seeing really solid and expected battery life, around 8-9 hours on a single charge—I've been working all afternoon and at this moment still have 6 hours left and 69% charge. This solution might not work for everyone but it worked well enough for me to cancel a Genius Bar appt today and to decide that it's probably more a software vs. hardware issue. Hope it helps some others like me!

WhiteWhaleHolyGrail

macrumors 6502a
Nov 14, 2016