Possible with eMac?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by kgarner, Aug 24, 2004.

  1. macrumors 68000

    kgarner

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Location:
    Utah
    #1
    Just a sort of wondering out loud kind of question. I have an old G4 and an old PC hooked up to a 17" Monitor, keyboard, and mouse through a KVM switch. If I got an eMac, could I, somehow, unplug the monitor from it and wire it through the KVM? I know that I could have with my old iMac G3. Just an interesting possibility.
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    seamuskrat

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    #2
    No, there is no input for the eMac to do this. You could have the eMac and PC share another monitor and use the hack to extend your desktop. But you cannot have the PC via KVM display on the eMac screen.

     
  3. macrumors 603

    solvs

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    LaLaLand, CA
    #3
    If you had XP on your PC you could use Remote Desktop. Or use a TV-Out card on the PC, and external FW TV-In for the Mac. But to answer your question, no, you can't just use the eMac screen. Think of it like a Laptop, only less portable.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 68000

    kgarner

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Location:
    Utah
    #4
    That's too bad. I was hoping you could do something like the iMac where you remove the bottom cover adn unplug the monitor and route the cables through the KVM. That would have been pretty cool. Oh well.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 68000

    kgarner

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Location:
    Utah
    #5
    I really like the Remote Desktop thing, but I use the PC to run AutoCAD and Remote Desktop just doesn't cut it for that. Whenever I draw something I can't see the line until I click the next point, which means I am drawing blind, which sucks.

    Been looking at getting PowerCAD for the Mac, but I need to save up a little more, before I can afford that.
     

Share This Page