Post Your Mac Setup: Past & Present (Part 6)

Discussion in 'Picture Gallery' started by Mikey-, Aug 1, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #1
    Mod Note: Here is a list of the previous threads
    Post Your Mac Setup: Past & Present
    Post Your Mac Setup: Past & Present (Part 2)
    Post Your Mac Setup: Past & Present (Part 3)
    Post Your Mac Setup: Past & Present (Part 4)
    Post Your Mac Setup: Past & Present (Part 5)

    Please refrain from quoting images. If you want to see the picture that a post is referring to, you can press this button: [​IMG].

    For large images (over ~800 pixels wide), please use [/SIZE][/B] tags rather than plain old [img] tags

    [b]We ask that everyone [U]refrains from reposting the same image in multiple threads[/U]. That includes the "Under 18" as well as "Post Your Mac Setup" threads.

    We do realize that this will still sometimes occur. If/when that happens, please report it by clicking on the "Report Post" icon ([IMG]http://images.macrumors.com/vb/images/buttons/report.gif) and include a link to both posts. Thank you.



    __________________________________________________________________

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  2. Bwa
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Boston & San Jose
    #2
    Added a 24" iMac this week for extra projects. It had a 24" external monitor that I used to use with my MBP.

    [​IMG]

    Here's a shot of the rear of the Mac Pro:

    [​IMG]

    The Mac Pro has 4x20" HPs, 1x30" Apple, and 1x19" ViewSonic.
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    tMac85

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Location:
    in a great place
    #3
    good lord! What do you do for a living?
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    #4
    Few changes made to mine.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #5
    Where did you get that basket, I'm looking for one
     
  6. macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #6
    IKEA.

    I can't remember the name of the item.
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    UMHurricanes34

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #7
    It's called SIGNUM from IKEA. I have one under each half of the desk, really makes a huge difference not having wires hanging down.

    Here's a link
     
  8. macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #8
    thanks a lot.
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    #9
    Thanks for the link as well. I'll probably end up getting ones of those. This is how I have my cables now:

    [​IMG]
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    WillJS

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    #10
    I wonder this, too! :O
     
  11. macrumors 68020

    JML42691

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #11
    What exactly do your do? I'm guessing some kind of programming, and just by the number of monitors, I am assuming that the Mac Pro is maxed out with its specs, any chance we can see the specs of the Mac Pro?
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    #12
    Here's mine! Sorry about the wires, I just got back from Iraq last week and am still setting up!

    [​IMG]


    -Andrew
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    thebassoonist

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Location:
    Davis, CA
    #13
    Set up with new keyboard! Hidden are my two hard drives (on my desk leg) and my printer (on a shelf next to my desk).
     

    Attached Files:

  14. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    #14
    [​IMG]
    PG Tips FTW.

    [​IMG]
    Projector Clocks FTW.
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    NotFound

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    #15
    Umm, black keyboard on the macbook pro on the right? Do tell? Looks slick.
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    #16
    It's an iSkin keyboard protector, it keeps it clean and new, plus I really like the black on aluminum look! :D
     
  17. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    #17
    Why is the power button in a different location?
    I thought it was a 17'' but the cd drive isn't up high like on current models?
     
  18. Bwa
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Boston & San Jose
    #18
    Yep, I write distributed software systems.

    The Mac Pro is not totally maxed out :). 8x2.8, 12 GB of RAM, 4 TB local storage, 3x2600 video cards. The iMac has 4 GB of RAM, same as the MBP.

    I also have some test gear elsewhere in the room with a total of 12 GB of RAM (just 3 machines right now), Gigabit drops throughout the room and the rest of the house. I posted some pictures of the wiring closet in a previous version of this thread. The switches are currently just vanilla unmanaged switches, but I'm looking at changing over to some kind of cheap managed switches for VLAN support.
     
  19. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    #19
    It is a 17" on the right and the 15" on the left.
     
  20. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    #20
    Hmm, just looks off I guess, both looks the same size in the pic, to me. Was the cd drive positioned in a different spot on earlier 17'' models>?
     
  21. macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #21
    I love computer setups. They're like command centers!!! I'm moving in a couple weeks and I can't wait to get all set up. I just wish more of it was apple :D Or that I had docks for my iPhone and iPod to make them look cooler in photos, haha.
     
  22. macrumors 68040

    neiltc13

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    #22
    We're only on the first page but already we have five different people using Apple's worst product ever, the Mighty Mouse. I ask of these people, do you think you'd still be using this if it didn't have Apple's logo on it?

    Anyway, here's my setup as it once was:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    With my (then) new Jonas desk in Oak from IKEA.

    And as it is now:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  23. macrumors 6502

    joekix

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    earth, long beach CA to be exact
    #23
    i have a wired and wireless mighty mouse that i use on
    a regular basis and i like them.
     
  24. macrumors 65816

    UMHurricanes34

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #24
    It could just be the flash making it look different than it really it. We'd need a better picture to really be sure.
     
  25. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    #25
    I just though we had a potential leak on our hands. Must be the timing. I read Iraq, my mind though military, perhaps with some special new proto-type. Wishful thinking thats all. :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page