PowerMac G5 2ghz DP Maximum Memory Upgrade?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by RedElectro, Jan 11, 2011.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #1
    Hi...
    What's the maximum ram upgrade I can put in my PowerMac? Apple states it's 4gb, but I've heard that this is a conservative estimate and you might actually be able to put more in?

    Is this true or just a rumor? Would it be possible say, to up the memory to 8gb with 2gb sticks x4?

    Thanks in advance :)
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #2
    What's the model identifier in System Profiler?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #3
    Model Name: Power Mac G5
    Model Identifier: PowerMac7,3
    Processor Name: PowerPC G5 (3.0)
    Processor Speed: 2 GHz
    Number Of CPUs: 2
    L2 Cache (per CPU): 512 KB
    Memory: 2 GB
    Bus Speed: 1 GHz
    Boot ROM Version: 5.2.4f1

    Is this enough info? Cheers :)
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Rodus

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #4
    Everymac says it'll take 8GB but you must install it in pairs.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #5
    Thanks for that, I didn't know about the Everymac website! There are two models of the G5 2.0 DP though and looking at these stats, it seems as though it's just the PCI-X version that supports 8gb of ram. Mine (unfortunately) seems to be the standard PCI version, which would appear to limit upgrades to 4gb.

    pci1432,7728:

    Type: Other Network Controller
    Driver Installed: Yes
    Bus: PCI
    Slot: SLOT-2
    Vendor ID: 0x1814
    Device ID: 0x0601
    Subsystem Vendor ID: 0x1432
    Subsystem ID: 0x7728
    Revision ID: 0x0000


    Still, I should imagine just upgrading to 4gb is going to make a difference?
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Rodus

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #6
    Yeah you're right, sorry, I looked at the PCI-X, 2GB to 4 is still a big jump though, remember that most Macs today ship with 4 and it is enough for most users.
     
  7. macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #7
    Apple is right, 4gb is the max for your model. You only have 4 memory slots so 4x 1gb modules. There are 8 slot models that will take 8gb total. You need DDR memory.

    The late '05 G5s used DDR2 and can take 16gb total with 2gb 8x dimms.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #8
    Ok, Thanks for that guys. 4gb will possibly do me fine anyway!

    Somewhere along the line I got the impression that even though the (official) max memory was 4gb, you could (unofficially) use 2gb sticks in the four slots to get to 8gb!! I guess it was just an unfounded rumour, so I'll just have to be happy with 4gb until I've got enough for my Mac Pro! ;)
     

Share This Page