Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

JoDevious

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 7, 2006
Hi! I've just become the proud owner of an Apple MacBook (Core Duo 2 GHz 80GB MA472B) which I'm about to max out with 2gb RAM!

I'm a newbie MAC owner and am using this laptop as a dedicated music production suite, using cubase, reason, final cut, all the plug-ins i can find plus ableton live...

I'm wondering if anyone can advise of a decent Soundcard that I should buy? Budget of upto about £300...

Many thanks!

Jo :eek:)

Jiddick ExRex

macrumors 65816
May 14, 2006
Roskilde, DK
I am not sure I understand. The macbook already has a soundcard and replacing that would probably take more knowledge than being a 'newbie mac owner'. :)

generik

macrumors 601
Aug 5, 2005
Minitrue
Jiddick ExRex said:
I am not sure I understand. The macbook already has a soundcard and replacing that would probably take more knowledge than being a 'newbie mac owner'. :)

Well you don't replace that because it is technically impossible, but you can buy external audio interfaces that hook up via Firewire..

Wanna go pro? It does take some serious coin to get started :rolleyes:

JoDevious

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 7, 2006
generik said:
Well you don't replace that because it is technically impossible, but you can buy external audio interfaces that hook up via Firewire..

Wanna go pro? It does take some serious coin to get started :rolleyes:

yay - that's what i meant ... that's some heavy piece of kit & at over £500 - it should be too! do you think that an m-audio 410 would make a good cheaper alternative?

generik

macrumors 601
Aug 5, 2005
Minitrue
JoDevious said:
yay - that's what i meant ... that's some heavy piece of kit & at over £500 - it should be too! do you think that an m-audio 410 would make a good cheaper alternative?

M-Audio not so good.