Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

cuestakid

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Jun 14, 2006
San Fran
Ok so heres the deal

My brother called me last night and told me that one of the girls in the place that he is living in is having problems connecting to their wireless network. Here are the facts that I know

1. Their ISP is Verizon Wireless and they have a Versalink gateway/router 327w.
2. She is using a 15 Powerbook G4
3. OS is 10.3.9
4. She has airport extreme
5. She is able to see the network and connect but can not use the internet
6. The probelm persists even if she is right next to the gateway.

He thinks that I know a lot about computers which I do but what I tried to explain to him is that I am very new to dealing with Macs and I am still trying to learn all that I can about my own mac

So I am asking anyone if they can give me any kind of suggestion as to what the problem might be, and what resolutions are there.

I should also mention that my brother is in Washington and I am in California, so I cant really just go over there and take a look at it which is why I need some expert Mac users to help me out

thanks

Eraserhead

macrumors G4
Nov 3, 2005
UK
OK so I think there is a problem with the internet connection itself. Is she definitely connected to the router? Can you test plugging in the internet connection to the Powerbook itself? (or use an ethernet cable?)

If it's an internet problem you probably need to contact your ISP, but try removing and blowing on all the cables (to remove dust) first and see if that improves things.

cuestakid

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Jun 14, 2006
San Fran
she is able to connect to it via a hard wire-if she is not able to connect to another wireless network at another location, does that mean that there is a hardware problem?