Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

dorqiekat

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jul 3, 2004
I have a powerbook, and when plugged in, is it ok to put the processor to highest? I'm not really good with remembering these techs, and I kept it at automatic because I thought it would get too hot or so. It's on automatic now, if I change it, would I notice some speed? Also, I heard about the computer cleaning or something at 3 AM... kinda like defrag in windows. Does it do that when it's asleep? Should you keep your computer on all night one day to achieve the cleaning?

thanks

robbieduncan

Moderator emeritus
Jul 24, 2002
Harrogate
It's perfectly safe to run in highest. If it wasn't then it wouldn't be an option!

The housekeeping jobs are run by cron. When the machine is asleep nothing is running (not even cron) so the jobs do not run. It's probably a good idea to let them run every so often, or use one of the many tools out there to run them during the day.

cluthz

macrumors 68040
Jun 15, 2004
Norway
dorqiekat said:
I have a powerbook, and when plugged in, is it ok to put the processor to highest? I'm not really good with remembering these techs, and I kept it at automatic because I thought it would get too hot or so. It's on automatic now, if I change it, would I notice some speed? Also, I heard about the computer cleaning or something at 3 AM... kinda like defrag in windows. Does it do that when it's asleep? Should you keep your computer on all night one day to achieve the cleaning?

thanks

1. I would not recommend you to set processor performance to highest.
The only difference you'll notice is in benchmarks, but you powerbook will get hot!

2. The cleaning process is the osx cronscripts. It doesn't do it when its asleep.
Don't leave you powerbook on at nights, but download MacJanitor and run it once a week (it activates the scripts, it takes about 5 mins to complete)