Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

CMT

macrumors regular
Original poster
Aug 24, 2009
I created a .profile in my home directory with this line:

export PATH=.:$PATH:~/bin
alias h history

But it look that it has no effect. Any ideas on what can be blocking? (I'm new to working with the Bash Shell)

Thanks!

robbieduncan

Moderator emeritus
Jul 24, 2002
Harrogate
When you say "it has no effect" what have you done? Have you created a new shell/terminal window? Changes to the .profile don't effect currently running shells.

CMT

macrumors regular
Original poster
Aug 24, 2009
1) I think .bash_profile is what you want.

I put the same lines in .bash_profile, and the PATH extension worked perfectly.

However, now I get this message:

-----------------------------------
-bash: alias: h: not found
-bash: alias: history: not found
-----------------------------------

2) Don't add . to your path.

Hmm, just curious, why not? I did that as a initial configuration as recommended in the book I'm reading. (Beginning Show Leopard Programming)

Have you created a new shell/terminal window? Changes to the .profile don't effect currently running shells.

Of course, I know that.

Thanks!

CMT

macrumors regular
Original poster
Aug 24, 2009
Or it assumes a different shell where the syntax given works?

Probably not. The book was made to work with the standard bash shell… (this is all I now until now, I'll continue reading)

Have you checked for a website associated with the book, for any corrections to printed errors?

I'll check that. The book is quite recent. It cover a lot of things in more than 600 pages. So I think it's natural that an errata starts to appear.

Thank you.

lee1210

macrumors 68040
Jan 10, 2005
Dallas, TX