Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

appleii.c

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Mar 18, 2013
So my son if going into 4th grade and I would like to introduce him to a programming language. Being a developer myself, I can help guide him but I don’t want to unrealistically expect too much too soon. I was looking for some advice as to which direction would be good to start on. He’s done a few activities on code.org both at home and in school, so he is familiar with the concepts of programming, but I would like him to get his feet wet with a language, something more OO. Should I go with some basics in a big language like Java or C#? Something newer/trendier like Swift or Angular? Or should I start with something more mainstream like Javascript?

Reactions: bnvnsn

cqexbesd

macrumors regular
Jun 4, 2009
Germany
What does he want to be able to create? If he likes building things then maybe even Arduino and a robot/car kit.

When I was a kid I spent a lot of time in HyperCard because it allowed me to create mac apps and I didn't know about/couldn't afford MPW. Then it was MacPerl 4 something as it had different limitations to HyperCard and about that time I discovered UNIX.

The point is that the language is less important than it being a useful tool to learn and to make things that will keep him interested.

I hard (probably on here) that Apple have released some "learn to program" stuff using Swift for iOS devices. I know nothing about it but maybe worth having a look.

appleii.c

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Mar 18, 2013
What does he want to be able to create? If he likes building things then maybe even Arduino and a robot/car kit.

When I was a kid I spent a lot of time in HyperCard because it allowed me to create mac apps and I didn't know about/couldn't afford MPW. Then it was MacPerl 4 something as it had different limitations to HyperCard and about that time I discovered UNIX.