Public Service Announcement: BUY A MORE RAM

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by iSee, May 3, 2006.

  1. iSee macrumors 68040

    iSee

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    #1
    OK, I know you've all probably heard this before, but I just added 1GB of RAM to a stock 17" Intel iMac (512MB), and it makes a huge difference.

    If you were thinking, "aw, is it really worth it? I'll just get by with 512," think again! :D

    10.4 gobbles RAM, Rosetta gobbles RAM, Safari gobbles RAM, etc., etc.

    Try having an Office app open, your e-mail client, and, say, your main work app (i.e. Flash, Photoshop, Xcode, etc.) And don't forget all those fun Expose widgets--they may not be visible all the time, but they still want RAM.

    Just do it. Got to get that RAM. Go on. Buy it. It's calling you.
     
  2. rick6502 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    #2
    RAM - the best upgrade

    Amen, brother. Rosetta does eat that RAM. Try running Parallel's Workstation software. It's a pig, too.
     
  3. livingfortoday macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #3
    I, uh... "third" this. I had 512MB in my Intel Mac Mini, and it beachballed like crazy. When I got a solid 1GB in there, it flies like a totally new machine! Once I get 2GB in there, nothing'll stop me!
     
  4. Kingsly macrumors 68040

    Kingsly

    #4
    *buys more ram*

    (when I put my 1GB stick in the MBP can I then put the 512 from the MBP into my iMac CD?)
     
  5. p0intblank macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #5
    You speak the truth! RAM is probably the best upgrade you can give a computer, not counting the video card if you're into gaming. When I went from 512 MB to 1.5 GB in my PowerBook, I noticed a big difference. And what's fun is launching an insane amount of applications at once and seeing how your system handles it. :D
     
  6. iSee thread starter macrumors 68040

    iSee

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    #6
    I'm 95.5% sure you can. Actually, I'm 95.6% sure. :D
     
  7. Kingsly macrumors 68040

    Kingsly

    #7
    Are those percentages dual channel? :p
     
  8. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #8
    I could not agree more! :)


    RAM, it does a Mac good. :)
     
  9. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #9
    That should work with no problem for you- they both use the same type and speed of RAM. :)
     
  10. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #10
    i need to get more ram, i was going to buy a one gig stick, but since i have a Rev B. iMac G5, its probably better for me to buy a 512 to match the 512 that is in there already, or buy two 1 Gig Sticks (out of my range right now) so... just waiting for another good paycheck and its goning to be bought. :D
     
  11. bdugan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    #11
    is it easy to install your own ram? I have a mbp and am considering upgrading from 512 mb to a gig. Also, whats the deal with the warranty if you change it, and whats the best brand to buy?
     
  12. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #12
    in a MBP it should be easy if its designed the same as the PowerBook... just a cover on the bottom of the machine to take off. and it won't affect your warranty at all as it is a user-upgradable part. however, be sure to buy from a dealer that offers a lifetime warranty and is sure of the compatibility with your machine, Crucial RAM is one of the oft mentioned places to get it around here, and such there is a link to them at the top of the forum pages.
     
  13. bdugan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    #13

    thanks. one more question. if i want to uprgrade from 512 to 1gb, do I buy a 512 mb ram? is it possible to buy a 1gb ram stick and use the 512 already installed and have 1.5gb?

    Thanks
     
  14. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #14
    Correct on both counts. The MBP has two RAM slots...it appears that your configuration has one slot with a 512 MB chip and one empty slot. You can buy a second 512 MB chip or a 1 GB chip to put in the second slot, giving you a total of 1 or 1.5 GB of RAM, respectively.
     
  15. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #15
    edit: beaten!

    you have two slots in your MBP, so if you want to upgrade to 1gig, all you need is another 512 slot, since you have one 512 SODIMM installed you an also buy a 1GB SODIMM and have 1.5GB of memory. depends how much you can afford though, as i think the 1Gig sticks are hefty still.
     
  16. rick6502 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    #16
    Memorable pricing

    The last price I saw was $113. That's not too bad, but you are paying a premium for the 1GB. The 512s are right at $50.
     
  17. dr_lha macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    #17
    Agreed.

    My 16k ZX Spectrum was pretty much a useless computer (only a few games work on it) until I got the 32kb RAM pack, and suddenly I was opened up to a whole new world of goodies.

    Totally worth the 50 pounds.
     
  18. FF_productions macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #18
    OSX loves ram, and I do too..except the cost.
     
  19. milo macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    #19
    Amen! I'd recommend at least a gig on ANY computer, mac or PC. The intel macs especially benefit from it.
     
  20. bloogersnigen macrumors regular

    bloogersnigen

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Location:
    Wherever the water flows
    #20
    iPhoto

    My iPhoto library took 3.5 minutes to open (1.8 dual g5 1 gig (used to) ram) now I added 2 more (for a total of 3) and it takes 8.5 seconds. WEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE. Its so fast.
     
  21. bdugan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    #21

    so if i buy a 1gb ram stick to go with my already installed 512 stick, it wont be as efficient? will that at least me more effecient that two 512 sticks?
     
  22. nosser macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Location:
    orange
    #22
    I don't know if 2gb of ram made a difference? That's because I got my 3rd party ram before my iMac came in. I never even used the stock 512. Well I lied. I started it up first, and once I knew everything was good I installed the ram. I've been very happy with my 2gb.
     
  23. BlizzardBomb macrumors 68030

    BlizzardBomb

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Location:
    England
    #23
    1GB + 512MB is a LOT more efficient than dual 512MB. Go for as much as you can afford.
     
  24. Sutekidane macrumors 6502a

    Sutekidane

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    #24
    ram is really expensive for the intel macs. I just can't afford any right now, even though I can tell that both my imac and macbook pro are starving. Running CS2 sure is fun....
     
  25. Kingsly macrumors 68040

    Kingsly

    #25
    ...I think its more of an adventure.


    I am thinking about ordering an OWC brand 1GB stick... they also have some other brand for like $2 more. What's the difference?
     

Share This Page