Push Gtalk application with no ads?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by geoSol, Jan 16, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    #1
    Hi All

    I'm looking to switch back having an iPhone, and I was wondering if any one has had experience with gtalk on iOS.

    I've had a look at a few third party apps that support gtalk, namely beejive, IM+, trillian and eBuddy, but the app store descriptions aren't particularly helpful.

    Specifically, I was wondering if there was an app that:
    * Runs in the background permanently for real-time chat updates
    * Offers a no ads experience for both me and my chat partner
    * Supports direct authentication with gtalk (such as using O-Auth), so that chat contents on pass directly between me, my partner and the google service, and not through the third party app provider

    I wouldn't mind paying for an app to remove ads.

    If anyone else knows for sure if any app would fit these requirements, do let me know! Your help is much appreciated!
     
  2. macrumors P6

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #2
    Not sure if this would satisfy everything, but the imo messenger app might be worth a try: http://imo.im/iphone.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    #3
    Thanks for the suggestion for imo app, but the Terms of use are rather worrying:

    Also, it may be nitpicking for a free service, but personally, I'd rather pay for an app than have to put up with ads.

    Thanks for the suggestion, though!
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Location:
    MN, USA
    #4
    talkatone

    The paid talkatone removes apps. I had this working great on my SGS2 phone. I am yet to make it work well on my iPhone 5. I am sure there is a way around it by enabling alerts and the like.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Stuntman06

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Location:
    Metro Vancouver, B.C, Canada
    #5
    I put Vtok on my wife's iPhone, so we can video chat. I use Gtalk on my Android phone and it works quite well.
     
  6. macrumors P6

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #6
    I'm pretty sure all that stuff applies to the imo network that they launched last year--kind of like their own smaller version of Facebook/Myspace. If you create a profile there and post and comment there, just like on Facebook or any other similar service, those terms would apply. It actually goes into that in the parts right after the part you quoted. As for the actual connections to other IM services, those were there originally and are separate from that whole imo network.
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    #7
    http://monal.im/
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    #8
    So I just tried out Monal on my iPad, and I can't seem to log into gtalk? It appears to be broken on the newest iOS version?

    Anyone else had a go?
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Location:
    Australia
    #9
    g'day. i have im+ pro, it works well for me and fulfills your first two requirments. tho i have no idea about the third one...u might wanna contact them by sending an email to find out. :)

    edit: actually, it won't run permanently on the background, u need to get on the app every 7 days at least, but i get notification to remind me to do so. (i hv ebuddy as well, basically the same deal.)
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    #10
    Is this the problem? The temporary solution is to open the app in portrait mode.

    http://monal.im/bugs/viewissue.php?issue_no=80
     
  11. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    #11
    No, I just tried that. I think the problem for me is that I've got google's SMS 2 factor authenticator set up. It doesn't know how to handle the second part of the authentication.

    Using the Google Accounts application password does not work. I wonder if there's a way to contact the developer...
     

Share This Page