Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mrgreen4242

macrumors 601
Original poster
Feb 10, 2004
I love the plastic look of the old Apple LCDs (ironically not a fan of the current models), and I especially love the design of the stand. So, I was wondering how these things compare to the current LCDs as far as quality of display goes? I'm sure technology has improved a lot since these were made, so how are the response times, color saturation, etc? The 20" seems moderately affordable on eBay, about what I would spend on a new decent quality, off-brand (or Dell), 20" LCD... just a thought. Thanks :)

IJ Reilly

macrumors P6
Jul 16, 2002
Palookaville
I've been using one daily for about five years with no complaints. The backlighting is starting to get a bit weak, flickering and starting out dim, but fine when it warms up after a few minutes. One thing to keep in mind about these displays is the ADC connector. To run one on a Mac without and ADC card will require an adaptor, which mainly provides power to the display. The cost, last I checked, was around $100.

princealfie

macrumors 68030
Mar 7, 2006
Salt Lake City UT
Uh, no... those looks absolutely gaudy with that kickstand I felt depressed. I prefer the current model.

Honestly I would rather get a NEC model over that old Studio display anyday. :eek:

mrgreen4242

macrumors 601
Original poster
Feb 10, 2004
I've been using one daily for about five years with no complaints. The backlighting is starting to get a bit weak, flickering and starting out dim, but fine when it warms up after a few minutes. One thing to keep in mind about these displays is the ADC connector. To run one on a Mac without and ADC card will require an adaptor, which mainly provides power to the display. The cost, last I checked, was around $100.