Quicksilver SD Update & Tiger?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by ITASOR, May 13, 2005.

  1. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #1
    http://www.apple.com/hardware/superdrive/

    I know I did this update once, but if I reformat the HD and install Tiger, will I need to do this again? Using 8x DVD-R is a must, so I'll need this.

    The computer is a QuickSilver. If anyone is familiar with this update, that would be great. Also, will I need to download it or will software update take care of it? Maybe it is one of those one time firmware flashes...I have no clue.

    Also, will it work with Tiger?
     
  2. ITASOR thread starter macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #2
    I'm called Apple and the don't seem to know anything about this. I thought it was a popular update because you needed it to burn 8x DVD's. I guess it can't hurt trying it?

    :confused: :confused:
     
  3. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
  4. ITASOR thread starter macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #4
    Thank you very much! I guess it stores it in the SuperDrive somehow?
     
  5. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    I cannot believe the limitation was in the OS, so I have to assume it was a flash for the drive, which means it doesn't matter what OS you're running, the flash will always exist on the drive's ROM.
     
  6. ITASOR thread starter macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #6
    Yeah I was thinking that too, just wasn't sure. It's still weird that Apple is clueless about this. I called multiple times, as usual.
     
  7. jackieonasses macrumors 6502a

    jackieonasses

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Location:
    the great OKLAHOMA....
    #7
    Just to say it again - it IS in the rom. So anything you do (an ibook screen hack) or anything like that will stay there for a long time. I still don't know why they crippled the machines...

    kyle
     

Share This Page