Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

rastalin94

macrumors member
Original poster
Jan 9, 2002
All I want to use my computer for is just some simple DV editing and replace my entire CD collection with MP3. This has turned out to be a big pain in the ass for me.

I am not a programer, I like to just use programs. I ran a 300 person NT network for three years. I worked at a local PeeCee store fixing computers for almost a year. I have experience with PeeCee's, I am very much a power user.

I have ran into more problems than I thought I ever would just by wanting to do these simple things. I have yet to find a good MP3 program, I have over 3000 files and most programs can not handle that very well. All I want is a simple program that will organize, let me play, tag edit. Basically I want a simple program that just works all the time. Siren from Sound Forge is a very good program but it is a resource hog and when I update tags for files it updates its own database and does not update the MP3 tag. I have crashed my machine several times just by doing searches, and some of the programs have create directories that windows can not delete no matter what. The only way to fix it is to format my drive. I have posted about his error many times and people have told me that they ended up formatting their drives also, so much for NTFS 5 as a file system.

I want iTunes.

On my windows 2000 box I had to connect my DV camera, turn it on, turn on my computer, and than start my program. Any miss step and it would not work. Again I have had a hard time finding a simple yet powerful program. Premiere is OK, but it seems a little quarky and much more complex than I need, and also expensive. I have also had tons of exporting and compression problems.

I want iMovie

I have a digital camera but do not even use it because there is no good organization program.

I want iPhoto.