Re-Purpose Imac Memory

Discussion in 'iMac' started by strauss884, Jan 9, 2013.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    #1
    If I bought 32GB for my new 27" Imac can I re use the existing 8GB of memory in a 2009 15" MBPr?
     
  2. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    There is no such thing as a 2009 MBPr, as the retina model was first released in 2012. You can't add or replace RAM in the MBPr at all, as it's soldered in. You may be able, however, to use RAM from an iMac in a MBPc.

    You can find specs on all Apple products:
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    #3
    I thought the "r" MBPr was for pro. Not Retina. Sorry. I have a 2009 Macbook Pro.

    It looks like this is what is in my 2009 Macbook Pro

    4GB (two 2GB SO-DIMMs) of 1066MHz DDR3 memory; two SO-DIMM slots support up to 8GB

    8GB 1600MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x4GB Is what is in Imac?

    Would this work?
     
  4. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    MBP means "MacBook Pro". Your 2009 MBP uses 1066 MHz DDR3 SDRAM (PC3-8500). Your 2012 iMac uses 1600 MHz DDR3L SDRAM (PC3-12800). I'm not certain they're fully compatible. I prefer to use only the exact spec that was originally installed.
     
  5. macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #5
    The chances of it working are between slim and none. And slim was last seen on his horse heading out of town.

    Memory is designed to work at certain speeds and trying to use them outside that design tends to not work well, presuming the MBP even sees it as valid memory.
     
  6. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #6
    PC3-12800 should be backwards compatible with PC3-8500, at least according to DDR3 specification. It does not mean that it will 100% work in your MBP though, as voltage might be a problem (1.5V for standard DDR3, 1.35V for low-voltage). I am not sure whether your MBP will correctly detect and apply the appropriate voltage to the RAM.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    #7
    OK. Sounds like I should just leave it alone then.
     

Share This Page