Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Odeezl

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 16, 2016
Hello,

I received 2 older imac computers that both are running windows 7 (not bootcamp or dual boot)

I would like to install OS X back on these machines. I have a bootable USB with OS X ready to install but I can't seem to understand how to actually do it.

I have tried press and hold "c" while booting and got to a "grub". Everything I tried under "grub" did not seem to work (all from research, I have no coding experience at all.) like: root (hd1,0) etc' But nothing work, I kept getting this message: "kernel must be loaded before booting"

Can anyone help me understand what would be the best and easiest way to install OS X back on these imac machines.

Thanks for the help.

jonen560ti

macrumors member
Dec 29, 2015
i suspect they may have wiped the recovery partition which adds a few complications. Grub is a bootloader, sort of a tiny os that exists to boot OS`s and to serve as a recovery point. commonly used to give users an easy way of making it easy to manage several OS`s on one machine.

first off, check for the recovery partition, hold the left alt key as the mac boots and see if it has a boot option named recovery

Odeezl

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 16, 2016
i suspect they may have wiped the recovery partition which adds a few complications. Grub is a bootloader, sort of a tiny os that exists to boot OS`s and to serve as a recovery point. commonly used to give users an easy way of making it easy to manage several OS`s on one machine.

first off, check for the recovery partition, hold the left alt key as the mac boots and see if it has a boot option named recovery

Thanks Mate, that worked for me! I was testing all the keys apart from the Alt key :)
I really appreciate you help.

jonen560ti

macrumors member
Dec 29, 2015
How can you install windoze without bootcamp?!? :eek:o_O