Resolution choice was wrong!

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by copasetic, Feb 15, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    #1
    Hi, I started the upgrade today and all was fine until it asked for the resolution and I chose 1081 HD resolution because I have an HD tv, but now the screen is blue and nothing happens when I use the remote. Any suggestions? TIA
    C.
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, CA -> Raleigh, NC
    #2
    Just because you have an HDTV doesn't mean you can support 1080i or P


    Unplug the ATV, it should let you restart
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Location:
    Newton, MA
    #3
    Uhm... You need to tell him to plug it in, too. :D
     
  4. macrumors regular

    tothelimit

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    South Florida
    #4
    when you switch the resolution on the ATV it brings up a dialogue along the lines of "if you can read this - your TV can accept this resolution - hit ok" and if you don't click ok, it reverts back to the previous resolution after a short period.
     
  5. macrumors regular

    tothelimit

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    South Florida
    #5
    it shows the resolution you are trying to switch to and then says " ___ seconds until the display resolution change is cancelled. If you can see the Apple logo click OK"

    sorry about the picture... the room is dark. :rolleyes:
     

    Attached Files:

  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    #6
    Looking through the online manual a couple of days ago, I could have sworn I read something that gave a key combination on the remote you can use if you can't see the screen that will allow you to cycle through the various resolultions until you see something. Sounded like it was for a situation just like yours. Just a thought, I don't even own the thing yet!
     

Share This Page