RevB 20" iMac - slooooow - not enough RAM?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by dave76, Jun 16, 2005.

  1. dave76 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    #1
    Hi there,

    I'm the mostly happy owner of a new iMac...except it feels slower than my 1.25Ghz Al Powerbook... Applications take ages to open and switch, fast user switching is anything but - and iPhoto / Photoshop Elements are just grim.

    The Powerbook has 1GB RAM and runs like a dream, the iMac has 512MB and doesn't.

    Can RAM make that much difference? The iMac's XBench score looks fine (166.61), so I'm left thinking it must be needing more memory.

    Any suggestions? How much RAM has everyone got in their shiney new iMacs?

    Thanks!

    Dave
     
  2. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #2
    It all depends how many programs you are opening at once. The first 1 or two should be normal, but as you open MORE than 512 Mb of programs at once your performance will degrade. So the answer on whether 512 Mb RAM is enough is -- "it depends"

    Also, go into Energy Saver and make sure your Performance is set to Highest.

    Thanks
    Trevor
    CanadaRAM.com
     
  3. dave76 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    #3
    I'm sure it does depend on what I'm doing, and I'm probably trying to do a lot - but what I don't understand is why my Powerbook worked great for a year with only 512MB, and I had as many apps open on that as I am on the iMac...

    I've changed the processor setting to highest as well (it was on automatic) but it doesn't seem to make much difference.

    I'm happy to stick another 1GB in there, but only when I'm sure that it's a RAM issue that is causing the problem!

    Cheers

    Dave
     
  4. mmmdreg macrumors 65816

    mmmdreg

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #4
    yeah you should probably go to 1gig or so. I've got 1gig in my 1.8GHz and it runs beautifully.
     
  5. mauly macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    #5
    I've been running photoshop cs2 in my rev-b iMac G5 (512MB) and it works like a dream... and thats on automatic!!!
     
  6. SteveC macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    #6
    It's your RAM. Here's a great way to confirm it. Read this:
    http://www.thexlab.com/faqs/lackofram.html

    Check your pageins and pageouts after you've had your computer on for a long period of time. Rule of thumb is: If you have high pageouts, you absolutely need more RAM.
     
  7. maya macrumors 68040

    maya

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    somewhere between here and there.
    #7
    I have a 20" iMac G5 2.0 GHz, and with only 512 ram, I have had no such problems as the original poster has mentioned. :confused:

    Maybe I am one of the lucky ones. :)

    512 ram on the iMac G5 seems to be good for daily use items even photo and video editing, with the exception of HD content. :)

    I also found out that and this is my personal experience that 10.4.0 is better than 10.4.1. The update x.x.1 seems to have issues that also affects my LCD visually. Strange. Revert to 10.4.0 and see if that fixes your problems. :)
     
  8. maya macrumors 68040

    maya

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    somewhere between here and there.
    #8
    I agree, RAM is not the issue here. Unless you are working on multiple wall-sized poster in PS, then and then only you might require more ram. :)

    I have to say that this is one of the BEST deals Apple has ever offered in all my years of computing. Free would be even better but then again one pays for quality. 20" iMac G5 all the way. :D
     
  9. zap2 macrumors 604

    zap2

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Washington D.C
    #9
    try some more RAM, it really can not hurt ur mac only help it.
     
  10. maya macrumors 68040

    maya

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    somewhere between here and there.
    #10
    There is the issue of funds, in ones budget. And unless you cannot afford, Great. However its only a patch solution. 512 is good for sometime.

    My only wish is if he iMac G5 could support more than 2 gigs of ram down the road. Yes, I know about the 2 RAM slot issue. :)
     

Share This Page