run terminal command at startup?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by maximus06, Nov 29, 2007.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    #1
    Seems like a simple thing to do, yet I've searched and not found an answer.

    Automator doesn't seem to have a terminal function...?

    Does anyone know?
     
  2. Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #2
    They way i would do it is to use applescript "do shell script" save that as a script and then put it in login items.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    #3
    I don't know how though. You cant just paste the command and expect it to work right? I mean I don't know apple script

    EDIT: Tried that, didn't work.
     
  4. Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #4
    What is the terminal script that you want to run as it sometimes needs tweaking to be able to run from inside applescript.

    Also I think that you have to save it as an application to work now (could've sworn it used to work just as a script file in Tiger)
     
  5. macrumors 68020

    pilotError

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Location:
    Long Island
    #5
  6. Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #6
    Ok having thought about it a bit more something triggered in my brain, can't believe i didn't suggest it before (but then again my sleeping patterns have been all out of whack at the mo).

    Lingon - Ok it is basically a GUI to editing launchd but it'll do the trick

    Picture 1.png
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    #7
  8. Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #8
  9. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    #9
    We need an updated link please for a current tutorial.

    The link to the osxfaq tutorial no longer works. Can someone please post a link to a current step-by-step to do this without an applescript. Thanks.
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    #10

Share This Page