Safari + MacRumors = Errors

Discussion in 'Site and Forum Feedback' started by skoker, Mar 28, 2006.

  1. skoker macrumors 68000

    skoker

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    #1
    I've been getting this odd error with MacRumors and Safari, at first I thought it was just my Safari but it's happened on several different installs and machines (10.3.9 and 10.4.5)


    Anybody else having this problem?

    EDIT I'm using Version 2.0.3 (417.8) of Safari under 10.4.5 currently.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. iPhil macrumors 68040

    iPhil

    #2

    Couple times it did happen to me too but once i unplugged the ethernet cable and re-connected it, it has stopped and it was like a week ago the last time i did that trick .. no more since then :confused: :confused:

    Edit: im using Safari 2.0.3/X.4.5
     
  3. skoker thread starter macrumors 68000

    skoker

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    #3
    Eh, Airport Extreme cards are a pain in the rump to unplug and replug every day. I do power cycle my modem/router every few days though, and I've been having this problem for a while.
     
  4. amacgenius macrumors 68000

    amacgenius

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    #4
    Safari 2.0.3 and OS X 10.4.5 and I've only had the prob a few times.

    Also, never gotten it in the school lab like you claim skoker on those eMacs with 10.3.
     
  5. skoker thread starter macrumors 68000

    skoker

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    #5
    Because you do not have access to the lab I do :rolleyes:
     
  6. amacgenius macrumors 68000

    amacgenius

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    #6
    Actually, I spent my afterschool time in there earlier this week and late last week - so yes I have access to that lab, Mr. I know everything :rolleyes:.
     
  7. OutThere macrumors 603

    OutThere

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    Yeah some nights I get that all the time...a reload will usually solve it, but it's annoying.
     
  8. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #8
    Running Safari Version 2.0.3 (417.9.2) and no problems with MR.
     
  9. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #9
    Let's play nicely kiddies.

    I get this but it is immediately remedied by refreshing the page. This is the only site I have issues with and it's been happening for ages. It doesn't worry me. :)
     
  10. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #10
    Looks like a connection or proxy error to me. I've never seen it, and I've been using Safari for over three years now.
     
  11. Koodauw macrumors 68040

    Koodauw

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Location:
    Madison
  12. Kernow macrumors 65816

    Kernow

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Location:
    Kingston-Upon-Thames
    #12
    I'll second Mad Jew's statement.

    I get this fairly frequently (about 3-4 times a week), only on MacRumors and a quick press of Command-R makes it go away very quickly. It doesn't really bother me.

    Ironically, MR has a bit of a history with being ever so slightly buggy with Safari - for a long time the text editing when replying to a post didn't work as expected.
     
  13. dcv macrumors G3

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    #13
    I've seen that message a few times before and not only on MacRumors. As others have said, just refresh the page and it'll work again.
     
  14. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #14
    Yep, the problem fades in and out maybe 2-3 times a week (with a few errors popping up during those periods). Only WebKit browsers seem to trip on it, and only at MacRumors.
     
  15. skoker thread starter macrumors 68000

    skoker

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    #15
    I know that ?-R fixes it, but it's still quite annoying. Maybe arn could take a look at it.
     
  16. ipacmm macrumors 65816

    ipacmm

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #16
    I usually get that same error when I go to the forums but I just end up refreshing and it goes away...it happens when I tab a few different forums and usually 1 or 2 out of the few on the home page get that error.

    I am also running Safari 2.0.3 and OS X 10.4.5
     
  17. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #17
    I've seen this too but I don't get it very often. A few times a week at most although mostly on this site.

    I have seen occasions where it's happened in spurts where most of your tabs will open with this message (on MR) for a few minutes.
     
  18. devilot Moderator emeritus

    devilot

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    #18
    I'm pretty sure this has happened in the past, too. Heh, I don't feel intrigued enough to go hunt down the old threads though. I've been using Camino mostly so I don't even know if Safari would throw that at me now.
     
  19. 2nyRiggz macrumors 603

    2nyRiggz

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Location:
    Thank you Jah...I'm so Blessed
    #19
    Its not just Safari, i've been using my XP laptop lately and its doing the same thing on Firefox....no biggie i just refresh and its good as new


    Bless
     
  20. socamx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    #20
    I get it all the time, and not just here. Usually happens when my connection whigs out.
     
  21. skoker thread starter macrumors 68000

    skoker

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    #21
    I'm getting a really bad flare up today. Anybody else?
     

Share This Page