Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

OldCorpse

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Dec 7, 2005
compost heap
I'm a complete Mac newbie... just 6 days... I opened my activity monitor for the first time, and I noticed that Safari is taking 135MB... now, I have only one window open and no extra tabs, I'm not downloading anything... in fact, I'm simply open on the macrumors forums... 135MB of RAM seems a bit high, doesn't it? So, I did a test... I just let the computer sit - jiggling the keys from time to time to prevent sleep - did this for about 10 minutes while reading a book, not using any resources on the computer... I click on activity monitor, and it's still showing 135MB RAM used by Safari... is this normal? If it is, I guess it's a good thing I decided to get 1.5GB of RAM, otherwise with Safari just open passively on one page, one window, no tabs and I would hardly get to do anything else for lack of memory :( TIA

Edit: I quit that one window in Safari, it went from 135MB to 130MB... that's with no windows! So I quit Safari altogether. Then, I open it up again, it brings me one window with my home page, and now the activity monitor is showing 15MB used... what's going on?! Does Safari slowly eat memory after a few hours?

Edit 2: So, immediately after I opened Safari it was at 15MB... I write the edit above, post it, and check activity monitor, it's now up to 22MB... wow, that's fast! Does it mean that if I use it long enough it'll eat all the memory and freeze? Or maybe freeze the whole computer with an "out of memory" message? And I'm not even doing anything intense like playing audio/video files in the browser, or downloading or displaying a whole bunch of scripts... hmm...

mad jew

Moderator emeritus
Apr 3, 2004
Adelaide, Australia
Okay, well RAM allocation in OSX is complicated and convoluted at best but I'll try to explain what I know at best. :eek: