Screen Flickering Help

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by iThink Apple, Oct 18, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502

    iThink Apple

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    #1
    Does this look like a Hardware or Software issue?

    Thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. macrumors demi-god

    IC3D

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Location:
    Fairfield County, CT
    #2
    Hardware more than likely. Does it go away after you reboot?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    iThink Apple

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    #3
    When i boot up and its the blue screen its fine but then when the whote screen with the apple logo comes it starts up.....
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502

    iThink Apple

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    #4
    Here is another screen shot.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. macrumors demi-god

    IC3D

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Location:
    Fairfield County, CT
    #5
    Definitely hardware related.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502

    iThink Apple

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    #6
    Is it worth fixing?? I just got this Macbook Air for free!! How much would it cost and but who should i do it?? Is apple expensive?

    Thanks!
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    #7
    Is the unit under warranty? If its a 2010 model Rev D, its most likely still under warranty in which case its worth a trip to an Apple Store or an Apple Authorized Repair Center to get it fixed; even if its out of warranty (within a couple of months), taking it to Apple may result in a good outcome for you (there are several stories on here where Apple has replaced faulty parts even when the machine has been out of warranty).

    Call Apple and find out; if you take it into an Apple Store or AASP, they will also give you a quote for the repair (for out of warranty repairs)
     
  8. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Location:
    My House
    #8
    that is soooo annoying to look at. Even if warranty is expired apple has a "flat rate" fix for $350. If the machine was not water damaged or abused then they replace anything faulty for the $350, even logic boards, screens, keyboard... all parts.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 6502

    iThink Apple

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    #9
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Location:
    My House
    #10
    I sugget not doing it yourself. The display is probably the hardest place to access. Really though go to "about this mac" on your computer and ut the serial number in at https://selfsolve.apple.com/GetWarranty.do then you can tell if your warranty has expired, and check if you can get it replaced for free.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 6502

    iThink Apple

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    #11
    Its out of Warranty.....Its a 2010 Model...

    Where is the best place to get it done at? Any recommendation??
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    #12
    So if that's the case, it probably only went out of warranty a couple of days/weeks ago, since the Apple warranty lasts for 1 year from release date and the 2010 models were released in early October of 2010. It's still worth taking it to an Apple Store or call 1-800-MY-APPLE. If the problem has existed for a few weeks you should mention that and more likely than not, Apple will take care of you.
     
  13. thread starter macrumors 6502

    iThink Apple

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    #13

    I'm sorry its an 2008 Model. A1237
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 6502

    iThink Apple

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    #14
    Anyone?
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    #15
    I think its still worth taking it to an Apple Store or talking to 1-800-MY-APPLE. After all, its just a phone call, and if they fix it at no charge, good for you, if not, at least they can diagnose it and tell you exactly whats wrong.
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    #16
    i think it is hardware issue
     
  17. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    #17
    try taking a screenshot directly from the mac ( command+shift+3) its built into to osx. Open that image on another device. If the problem shows up in that image, then its software and they can fix it for free by just reinstalling osx. If the problem doesn't show up in the image, then its a hardware issue and you have to talk to them about it.
     

Share This Page