Screenshot Question

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by NatronB, May 22, 2003.

  1. NatronB macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    #1
    All-

    How does one take a screenshot of a DVD movie? I tried my handy 'open apple-shift-3' bit, that didn't work. I then tried using 'Grab,' that didn't work either. Any ideas?

    Thanks,
    -Nate
     
  2. MoparShaha macrumors 68000

    MoparShaha

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #2
    You can't take screen shots of the apple DVD player. Its a copywright issue, apple blocks the screen shot functions when the player is open. You can download another DVD player, VLC, at http://www.videolan.org/. This progam allows you to take screen shots, although it doesn't run that well on older systems.
     
  3. iJon macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
  4. MacRumorSkeptic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Location:
    Southern California
    #4
    I think it depends on what type of graphics card you have.
     
  5. zarathustra macrumors 6502a

    zarathustra

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #5
    run a search at versiontracker. There is an app called DVD capture (how fitting). It works quite well.

    Yes, because of copyright issues you cannot legally take a screenshot that will be used commercially (e.g. in an ad, magazine cover, etc.), without consent from the producers and copyright holders.

    Sorry, this rant was brought to you by:

    MoparShaha's spelling of copywright. ;)
     
  6. Freg3000 macrumors 68000

    Freg3000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #6
    I think it even comes bundled with some new computers. I know for a fact that it's on my Power Mac.
     
  7. ibookin' macrumors 65816

    ibookin'

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #7
    It comes bundled with the "Pro" line of computers. It did not come on my iBook, but when my boss bought a Ti 1GHz (with 1GB ram, 60GB HD :D) it came preloaded.
     

Share This Page