Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Being safe of paranoid? :D

• Better safe then sorry!

Votes: 1 100.0%
  • You are paranoid and crazy!

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

cefey

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 20, 2010
Hello,

Last few year I had couple of minor issues with security of my macbook air.
I have firevault installed, antivirus (avast or bitdefender) and firewall on.

I do travel a lot and had someone to look at my mac in couple of shady places (3rd world country, not autosized workshop). Is it possible that they have installed something on my mac, while "fixing" it?

- I had my CC information stolen (but it might in a store or some website got hacked).
- In e-mail attachment folder I found some PDF files created not too long ago. But it´s a "copy" of attachments I sent around 2 years ago. How they got created - I do not know...
- Recently I started learning about applescript and found 3 suspicious workflows, that was supposed (as I understood them) to keep track of all my archives (name of files, make silent copy etc). I panicked and deleted them.. :D
- 5 workflows were in i-cloud that I did not create... I think.

It´s been around 2 years since I had someone twitching on my mac. After last time, I even did I clean install. However, I did copy my mailboxes (whole folder), photos and some other stuff back to new installation.

So my questions are:
- Is it possible to install spyware, that will not be detected by antivirus (if someone have physical access to my mac)?
- Is it possible to create workflow/applescript, that will act like spyware. I assume, then it will not be detected by antivirus neither?
- Is it possible to write workflow/applescript that will keep track of my files (documents, archives, photos, audio, video files, etc?), make a list of all files and/or copy those files and silently e-mail them/upload them somewhere?