So...I just ordered an Apple TV

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by gazfocus, Feb 6, 2008.

  1. macrumors 68000

    gazfocus

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #1
    After lurking for a couple of weeks, I spotted an Apple TV in the Apple UK Refurbished Store last night so ordered it straight away (for £135 instead of £199).

    Now, what cables will I need? I don't have a modern TV at the moment, so will I be able to use it with an ACD? What cables will I need?

    Thanks
     
  2. macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #2
    I assume that means no digital inputs (HDMI/DVI), so that only leaves component for cable options. The :apple:tv doesn't have composite (single, RCA type) out.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68000

    gazfocus

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #3
    I have an ACD. Will I be able to use it with that?
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    America's Wang!
    #4
    unless you have an HD or enhanced definition tv, you wont be able to use it
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    AliensAreFuzzy

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #5
    I'm not 100% that it would work, but if you got an HDMI to DVI adapter like this one you should be able to plug your ACD into the :apple:TV and you'd need to plug a stereo or something into the stereo RCA (White and Red) connection from the :apple:TV for audio.
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    #6
    ATV won't work on a 23" or 30" Cinema Display. It will support smaller displays.

    Kevin
     
  7. macrumors demi-god

    /dev/toaster

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #7
    If you use an AppleTV with a 480i 4:3 display everything will be stretched out and look terrible.
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    Avatar74

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    #8

    Is there any reason you didn't read the specifications before you bought the AppleTV?
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 68000

    gazfocus

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #9
    Ok, I received my AppleTV and bought a HDMi to DVI Cable off ebay, and it works great (on my ACD!!!)

    However, it's a refurbished model and it's got the old software on it (version 1.1).

    Is this because the new software isn't on ANY AppleTV's yet?

    EDIT: Just spoke to an 'Apple Expert' and she said the Apple TV software update is already available. Anyone know this?
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    #10
    She is not an 'Apple Expert' in this regard. Apple TV 2.0 has not shipped yet.

    Kevin
     
  11. macrumors demi-god

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Location:
    NC
    #11
    I bought a 30" ACD for work. So much for watching HD content on it.
     

Share This Page