So, Will Tiger work on G3's and G4's or not?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Pipian, Jun 28, 2004.

  1. Pipian macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    #1
    For some reason, there is some debate to this..
     
  2. gbojim macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    #2
    It will run on a G4. Not sure about G3's. If no one knows I can send an email to my programmer at WWDC and have her ask.
     
  3. Pipian thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    #3
    Could you please ask? I'll give you good Karma for it!
     
  4. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #4
    Darn close to being an OS that'll ship on DVD...
     
  5. Indiana Mac macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Location:
    Athens, Georgia
    #5
    If it will run on a G4 there should not be any reason why it could not run on a G3(as far as I understand it). Its my understanding that Tiger just further integrated 64-bit componets into the system to allow the G5s to take advantage of their true potential. Besides, there are a ton of G3 users out there(my self included) who'd be very unhappy.

    64-Bit in Tiger
     
  6. ChrisFromCanada macrumors 65816

    ChrisFromCanada

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario (CANADA)
    #6
    Apple has always been pretty good with allowing older computers run current operating systems so I guess as Sun Baked said the question is will is ship on a DVD (which will not work in macs with CD-ROM drives).
     
  7. Mac_Max macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    #7
    It'll run on all the models Apple supports in 10.3 with the possible exception of the Lombard & original iMac line.
     
  8. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #8
    they probably wont ship if only on DVDs, they may make a CD-Rom version and a DVD version, but not only a DVD, some of the emacs not too long ago (and maybe still) can come with only a CD-ROM drive, and thus they would not want to lose those sales, ect....
     
  9. gbojim macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    #9
    The response was that Tiger technically will run on a G3 but the Quartz based goodies will obviously not work. This came from one of the Apple engineers. He did not know anything re marketing plans.
     
  10. Pipian thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    #10
    It would make no sense for it not to work on non DVD Drives.. That would mean the first White iMacs wouldn't work.. Or iBooks as new as this last October
     
  11. kidA macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    #11
    you can still get ibooks with only cd rom drives in the education store, so i'd imagine that 10.4 will be offered on both CD and DVD.
    not to mention the fact that the xserve generally has only a cdrom drive. so the newest version of server will have to ship on cd roms.
     
  12. Coca-Cola macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Location:
    WA
    #12
    I hope it doesn't run on G3 iMacs. I need an excuse to get rid of my wife's iMac and get a new G5.
     
  13. caveman_uk Guest

    caveman_uk

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    Hitchin, Herts, UK
    #13
    At this point in time there aren't that many G5's around compared to the number of G3s and G4s. It would be the non-event of the decade to release an OS that only runs on G5's.
     
  14. adamjay macrumors 6502a

    adamjay

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #14
    kinda like how the 30" LCD's only run on G5's
     
  15. stoid macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #15
    Disregarding the absolute necessity of needing a special video card to drive the thing...

    I doubt that many people have $3299 to get a monitor just for casual use. If you NEED to have that kind of monitor, chances are you NEED a G5 as well.

    What is your need for a monitor that size?
     
  16. adamjay macrumors 6502a

    adamjay

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #16
    no need really. but it does match my no need for an OS that's been written more for the G5 than anything else.

    the point i was trying to make is that the 30" Display is in reality just as much a non-event as Tiger would be if it were only for G5's.
    Considering outside of the cost for the display alone, one without a G5 would have to pay at least $2600 just to have the equipment to use it.
     
  17. tliptak macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    #17
    The Panther was 3 cds

    2 700mb ones

    and one smaller 300mb?

    The Dev release of Tiger is about 1670mb.

    If the final is still around that size it would still be able to be released on 3 cds.
     
  18. stoid macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #18
    Does the developer release contain all the localizations? BTW, does the Voice Over technology work in other languages? I've never heard the Apple voices speaking anything but English.
     
  19. psycho bob macrumors 6502a

    psycho bob

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Location:
    Leeds, England
    #19
    Apparently built in firewire is a requirement of 10.4. However as many patches and workarounds were released to allow 10.3 to work on legacy machine I'm sure the same will happen again.
     
  20. iJon macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #20
    i dont see apple catering to the non dvd group to much. i feel the final copy of tiger will be released on a dvd, and just like the readme says, require a dvd drive and a mac with built in firewire. now i can see apple selling a custom box with cd's, but i highly doubt it. i think for the early ibook and emac users it will be time to either upgrade to a new machine, stay with panther, or invest in a exteral combo drive.

    iJon
     
  21. Mord macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #21
    i'll eat my own head if the final release is on a dvd there are macs sold today without dvd drives (edu ones) and yes it will work on a g3 i have it on my ibook now (600MHz CD installed it in firewire disk mode from my cube)

    all it will require is a mac with on board firewire which is reasonable.

    and for the rest there is always xpostfacto (see www.macsales.com)
     
  22. stoid macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #22
    There is one MAJOR problem with Tiger not working on older computers, and that is in the education market. Almost all schools will only upgrade computers as often as they can afford it, and never all the computers at once. From a technical standpoint, it is incredibly difficult to be running different versions of an operating system. I work at a high school preparing computers for a new school year. This summer we are finally making a total transition to Mac OS X. If Tiger only supports DVD capable computers, about 75% or our machines will not take it. However, the school is often given money with the directive to buy new computers whether it is from the government or an alumni. After Tiger comes out, chance are new Apple's will not be able to boot in Panther. We will then be split between two systems, making it much harder for our media director to do his job. Please Apple, give us CDs or don't FORCE the new computers to boot Tiger.
     
  23. iJon macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #23
    alright, first lets clear some things up. what is your definition of older computers, that will answer many questions. now you are right about computers that ship with tiger, they will not be able to go lower. but i do not find that a problem, as long as all computers are on mac os x. i can go throw my powerbook in a mix of 10, 10.1, 10.3, and a DP 10.4 and they would all connect with no problems, even if if i was in a os 9 enviroment it would work all great, even if i had a windows machine it would work superb.

    iJon
     
  24. stoid macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #24
    We have an entire lab of 400Mhz slot-loading Ruby iMacs, but come to think of it they do have FireWire, so we can use them in target disk or what not to install. The big problem we have with running different versions of Mac OS X is really the teacher/student end. When the interfaces are not consistent it confuses or irritates the less than computer savvy types that are so prevalent at our school. And when the users are having problems, everyone has problems.
     
  25. iJon macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #25
    now i completly agree on the different interfaces, nothing is worse than having to memorize multiple systsm to help out people, and i do go through that every day. "is you apple in the the top left colored of blue"..."it's neither, now what" :)

    iJon
     

Share This Page