Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

collinssol

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 15, 2009
I want to make a mac app that listens on a port for incoming data and a web page send that data and the app processes it then send the processed data back to the web site. I have a program running that well accept incoming data on port 50000 but only if i send said information through the URL IE xxx.xxx.xx.x:50000/user=fred,number=123456789

I can rack this in and process it and get the user and number out but thats not exactly what i want. I need to send this data via php or java and then when i get the processed data back do some php scripting with it. I am new to mac app development and have hit a brick wall. I have tried php sockets and curl as well as some java httprequest and nothing works. My program never picks up a request unless its the browser making the call.

I would really appreciate any help or advice i can get.

rowsdower

macrumors 6502
Jun 2, 2009
I think you're going to have to be a bit more clear about what you are trying to do. Are users sending the data to port 50000? What do you mean when you say that you need to send this data via php or java?

collinssol

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 15, 2009
I have a form that a person fills out auction information like ebay auction number then i had php code that would retrieve that information via the ebay api and add that auction to the shopping cart of the particular web site. My code has been pretty popular but i have had some compatibility issues so i was wanting to take the ebay processing off to a server side program that would accept the form data and reply with the action information that the rest of to code would interact by adding it to the cart database.

rowsdower

macrumors 6502
Jun 2, 2009