Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

counciler

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 8, 2011
I'm still pretty new to this programming stuff. So I've picked me up some books and have learned quite a bit. Now, I understand in objective C, in order to call a method you use the [class method] format. But what confuses me is there are some things in iPhone/iPod/iPad development that doesn't seem to follow this. For example:

Code:
[[touches anyObject] locationInView:self.view]

"touches" isn't a class but it works to call "anyObject." Another example is:

Code:
[[event allTouches] anyObject]

Where does "event" come from? I try looking at the documentation by double clicking on the name of this "class" and all it brings up for "touches" is for "touchesBegan:withEvent:", and "event" comes up with nothing. This is seriously confusing me.

JustSomeDude

macrumors regular
Apr 10, 2010
I'm still pretty new to this programming stuff. So I've picked me up some books and have learned quite a bit. Now, I understand in objective C, in order to call a method you use the [class method] format. But what confuses me is there are some things in iPhone/iPod/iPad development that doesn't seem to follow this. For example:

Code:
[[touches anyObject] locationInView:self.view]

"touches" isn't a class but it works to call "anyObject." Another example is:

Code:
[[event allTouches] anyObject]

Where does "event" come from? I try looking at the documentation by double clicking on the name of this "class" and all it brings up for "touches" is for "touchesBegan:withEvent:", and "event" comes up with nothing. This is seriously confusing me.