Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

daproject85

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 13, 2011
Hi Forum,

I want to sort an array of NSDate. I have been doing some googling and aside from using descriptors it can be done like this

Code:
sortedArray = [unsortedArray sortedArrayUsingSelector:@selector(compare:)];

now does this sort the array in ascending date or descending date? how would i know?

Last edited by a moderator:

daproject85

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 13, 2011
You should know once you've look at the class reference for NSDate's compare: method, as well as NSArray's sortedArrayUsingSelector: method.

Hi dejo,

thanks for you reply. I had looked at the Apple docs and I did not understand it. I am new to Objective-C and iOS programming. If I had understood it I would not have bothered posting on the forum for help.

Duncan C

macrumors 6502a
Jan 21, 2008
Northern Virginia
Hi Forum,

I want to sort an array of NSDate. I have been doing some googling and aside from using descriptors it can be done like this

Code:

now does this sort the array in ascending date or descending date? how would i know?

I always have to puzzle this sort of thing out, or just run a quick test. I'm too tired for either right now. I think it would sort into smallest-to-largest order, but I'm not positive.

There are about half-a-dozen different ways to sort arrays in Cocoa. sortedArrayUsingSelector is one.

Another useful method is sortedArrayUsingComparator: That method is very powerful, once you get your head around using blocks. For something simple like sorting an array of dates, it's overkill, since sortedArrayUsingSelector works perfectly. If you're sorting something like an array of dictionaries that contain dates, however, sortedArrayUsingComparator makes it pretty easy.