Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

wfriedwald

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jan 1, 2017
I have been using a 2008 Mac Pro (since 2008, in fact) - it still works, but it takes forever to boot, and is somewhat buggy - though works overall very well for an eight-year old machine. (I refurb-ed some of it about four years ago with a new graphics card, DVD rom drive etc.)

I have been advised that I can possibly get the machine to work at least slightly faster by putting the system on an SSD drive and using that as the startup drive.

Does anyone have any suggestions? I'm not sure that an SSD drive can even fit into one the drive bays, some form of adapter (or something) may be necessary.

grateful for any feedback, and happy new Year!

w

BeechFlyer

macrumors regular
Nov 5, 2015
Cedar Rapids, IA
I just recently added the OWC Accelsior S with a 1.0TB Electra 6G SSD to my 2008 Mac Pro, though not as the startup drive - just an additional drive mostly for FCPX work. It has made video work significantly better than before.

I could see adding another drive as a startup drive if that works in the 2008 Mac Pro.

kevink2

macrumors 68000
Nov 2, 2008
There are several options for drive trays to convert a 2.5" SSD to the 3.5" trays in the MP.

I used a SSD for a couple years before I decided to try a Hackintosh last year. I need to see how difficult it is to install Linux on my MP, since it has been sitting unused for 7 months now.

wfriedwald

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jan 1, 2017
what option, if any do recommend? an adapter for the drive bay? or a PCI_x card or something like that?

thanks!

Ph.D.

macrumors 6502a
Jul 8, 2014
I second the "icy dock" as an easy solution. I have two of the original hinged metal versions in my "early 2008" Mac Pro. I think most of the current ones are plastic (should be fine).