Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

fuzzy7slippers

macrumors member
Original poster
Feb 21, 2002
I have a few questions. I am looking to start a mac repair business and I am seeking a few opinions on things. Do you think it would be better to have a shop or work out of my house for a while until I start making a profit. I am also wondering wether you think in store or on site service is more important. There is only one store in my town for macs and repair, and they are The Happy Mac. The people there are real jerks. My friend and I are tired of them and want to do something on our own. So, any advice would be cool. Name suggestions would be great aswell. By the way I am a certified tech. But I havent been for very long.

hugemullens

macrumors 6502a
Dec 15, 2002
Michigan
Work out of your house. I've worked this summer doing pc repair out of my house and its the only chance you have. Dedicated a room to it. Get a good desk, a nice work bench, and keep it looking good and people will be impressed. Be honest, cause you will not be able to do warrenty work, and if you do you could violate apples warrenty and be on the hook for the full cost if something else breaks, even if it is unrelated. Do both pc and macs. Also, my MAJOR money maker has been 1 on 1 computer training. I built a PC, and i show people how to do letters in Works, how to get digital camera pictures sized and printed, and the like. Plus the custom PC impress's people. Maybe do other minor computer stuff too, i do VHS to DVD stuff, nothing fancy but it keeps money coming in. I've found that the bulk of my stuff has been in house upgrades (new vid cards, ram, and what not), i dont do a whole lot of house calls. But definetly dont be afraid to travel. Good luck!

AnotherMortal

macrumors regular
Jan 14, 2003
Baltimore
I think a similar thread exists