Static / Dynamic IP Addressing per SSID?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by moronalert, Jul 4, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    #1
    I was wondering if it were possible in Leopard to set it so that, say, for my home network, I could have static IP automatically configured upon connect, but for a network like a hotspot or college wi-fi, have DHCP take over. Thus far, I've been unable to figure it out with the system preferences dialogue.

    tia
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    #2
    Are you familiar with setting up locations? You can set a location in the network preferences for your home settings, then just use the automatic location when you are not at home.
     
  3. JNB
    macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #3
    Or you could just use DHCP at home. No real reason not to, is there?
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    applefan69

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Location:
    Medicine Hat
    #4
    yes lots of reason, static IP's provide lots of advantages,

    dynamic IP's on the other hand are automatic and simple.
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    #5
    You can assign an IP to a specific machine while still using DHCP, normally it's in the router's advanced settings.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    #6
    I do static DHCP with ISC DHCP on my server. Set the lease time to something really big (10 years) and then assign the mac address of whatever device I am setting up to use a specific IP. This worked best for me. It also gives me a nice list in the config file of what is what on my network. In my DD-WRT I believe, if I had it configured as a router (it is used only as an AP) I could also do this. I vaguely remember this type of setting in an old SMC router and a Belkin router I had awhile back for another location.

    So you would leave the auto config in your laptop, and then have the router do the static DHCP settings. This should work with just about any router out there now.
     
  7. macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #7
    Static local IP can be set
    - by router (if your router supports it)
    - by user (OSX can set up multiple locations easily, 3 clicks to change).
     

Share This Page