Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

bluedevil14

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 3, 2006
Washington, DC
i am a student in high school
do i apply for apple's student discount? I have heard conflicting reports from apple's website and the people at my local apple store:confused:

Peyton

macrumors 68000
Feb 2, 2006
bluedevil14 said:
i am a student in high school?

I don't know? Are you?

JK, usually just take your school id to the store, thats all you need

WildCowboy

Administrator/Editor
Staff member
Jan 20, 2005
No...in general, high school students are not eligible for the discount. But you only need to have been accepted at a college in order to be eligible. So seniors only need to bring a college acceptance letter. Or maybe you're taking an advanced class a local college...that is usually enough too.

british724

macrumors member
Mar 12, 2006
Indy
Yeah, I'm a senior in high school (not for much longer :D ) and I've been taking online courses through the college I'm going to... so I applied for it because I had a college ID. And once I got accepted for sure to that college my ID didn't change, so it worked either way. But yeah you can't get it just because you're in high school.... you have to log in with a student ID and password. Sorry :( Be patient, your time will come soon enough :cool:

desenso

macrumors 6502a
May 25, 2005
Can current undergraduates receive the student discount when purchasing at a physical Apple store? I always knew of the online store, but I thought that to receive the discount in person you had to buy from your university or college. If so, what proof of affiliation is required? And, if I may ask one more question: do the physical stores sell MacBooks that are something other than the base spec?

Flyinace2000

macrumors 6502a
Sep 28, 2004
To get the discount at the Apple Retial store you need to show that you are a student.

1. Student ID