Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Bad_JuJu

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 17, 2005
North of Kalifornia
Just a comment before I go plunk down $1300 for a new 12" PBook

Have seen many threads about latches - dead pixels - flakey panel alignment - flakey hinges on iBooks and PBooks

I'm new to apple after being a system designer at Intel for many years - and love OS X and my mini -- but I really think Apple could do a better blend of style and design on their mobile products.

My IBM ThinkPad at Intel was a freakin bullet-proof tank as far as mechanical design went and rigidity of the LCD screen --- I would really like Apple to strike a better balance between pure style and some basic elements of mechanical design

Time to roll the bones at the apple store and see how a PowerBoook works out for me

PlaceofDis

macrumors Core
Jan 6, 2004
accidents do happen, ive had no problems with my PowerBook's design in the two years i have had it. iBooks a are a bit more rugged i believe though

although i do agree with you overall, there should be a bit more placed on durability at some point

punkbass25

macrumors member
May 16, 2005
at the same time its always gonna look like all of apple's products are flaky if you look in these or other mac forums, because like everything else they have problems. and when things go wrong people come to forums to try to get help. so there will always be lots of threads regarding flaky this and that.

but how many times comparitively do people make threads on how thrilled they are with there machine (some but not as many, and i'm willing to bet more people are satisfied then not)

i do agree somewhat with the durability, except check out this thread on spy mac

http://www.spymac.com/forums/showthread.php?threadid=178547

this guys powerbook keeps on truckin (with some dents and bruises of course) despite his gross mishandling...

so yeah its hard to say