Supercomputer Doubles Own Record

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by PlaceofDis, Oct 29, 2005.

  1. homerjward macrumors 68030

    homerjward

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Location:
    fig tree
    #2
    imagine the frame rates that gets in doom 3...
     
  2. TheMonarch macrumors 65816

    TheMonarch

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #3
    Interesting... Imagine coding for 131K+ processors :eek:

    I knew someone would say that. But doom (or any game for that matter) isn't made with 131 thousand processors in mind... It probably wouldn't be that great...
     
  3. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #4
    Honestly? It's no harder than coding for 100K processors, believe it or not. ;)

    Very impressive specs. Hopefully, the new Macintel PBs will come close....
     
  4. Deepdale macrumors 68000

    Deepdale

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Location:
    New York
    #5
    From the linked article: "It reached 280.6 teraflops - that is 280.6 trillion calculations a second. ... Each person in the world with a handheld calculator would still take decades to do the same calculations Blue Gene is now able to do every second."

    Those numbers are beyond mind-boggling. What will the stunning accomplishments be in another 10 years?
     
  5. PlaceofDis thread starter macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #6
    exactly. the future implications of what we might be possible to do in the years to come are amazing
     
  6. JW8725 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Location:
    UK
  7. katie ta achoo macrumors G3

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    #8
    Ah, but if I got one, all I would do is use Adium and post on MR.

    :D

    /wants one
    //needs more RAM!
     
  8. Lacero macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #9
    Yet with 260 Tflops of computing power, it can't still match the computing power of a mosquito's brain. We'll get there one day.
     
  9. whocares macrumors 65816

    whocares

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Location:
    :noitаɔo˩
    #10
    Mosquitos don't have brains, merely several neurone nodes along the length of its body. ;)

    I do agree however that even at 200+ TFlops, Blue is still incredibly dumb and can only do what it's told :p :p

    Think they might consider joining the MR folding team? :cool:
     
  10. dubbz macrumors 68020

    dubbz

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    Alta, Norway
    #11
    Yes, PowerPC 440 @ 700MHz, running Linux, according to top500.org.

    Wonder how many WU/day this thing could do for Folding@Home... (team 3446 ;)) (if they'd port the client, that is)
     
  11. jhu macrumors 6502a

    jhu

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    #12
    imagine that. put a bunch of embedded processors together and you get a supercomputer.
     
  12. OutThere macrumors 603

    OutThere

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #13
    Oh man...if we could even just get 1 second of processor time from that thing we'd be set...

    [​IMG]
     
  13. revisionA macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    #14
    I just hope it doesnt think its a mosquito when it becomes self aware, and swats us with our own nukes that it knows inside and out.

    $
     
  14. Melkor macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    #15
    I always found the whole DNA simulation thing really interesting.


    I wonder how big it is though? They should have someone standing next to it in the picture.
     
  15. wordmunger macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #16
    Only 700 MHz? Clearly it's a lame computer then :rolleyes:

    Seriously, if this isn't an excellent illustration of the megahertz myth, I don't know what is.
     
  16. combatcolin macrumors 68020

    combatcolin

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Location:
    Northants, UK
    #17
    Bets on favourite that this new Big Blue comes with a bog standard video card...
     
  17. jhu macrumors 6502a

    jhu

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    #18
    if you put enough processors together, the speed of each may not matter as much. hell, if you put a million 486-like processors together, it'd probably be much faster. the top computer has 65k processors vesus #3 with 10k processors.
     
  18. Dane D. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Location:
    ohio
    #19
    Wow

    According to my calculations, it would process a SETI workunit in 0.0085531005 seconds. (2,400,000,000,000 divided by 280,600,000,000,000) 2.4 trillion is what SETI says is the minimum calculations needed to process a workunit.:D
     
  19. Platform macrumors 68030

    Platform

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
  20. greatdevourer macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    #21
    Have you seen the PC equivilent of the new G5? summat stupid like a 10Ghz P4
     
  21. jhu macrumors 6502a

    jhu

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    #22
    i think you a 1.8ghz opteron
     
  22. greatdevourer macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    #23
    Quad Core 2.8Ghz Xeon, with a 2.4Ghz dual core Opteron lagging someway behind (partly because no-ones tested a quad core 2.4 Opteron on this site)
     
  23. Apple Hobo macrumors 6502a

    Apple Hobo

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Location:
    A series of tubes
    #24
    Each computer cabinet is about the size of a large refrigerator, so the whole system is pretty large.

    pics
     
  24. jhu macrumors 6502a

    jhu

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    #25
    i see. that makes your previous post rather misleading. as far as i know, there is no quad core xeon currently. you're probably talking about dual dual-core systems. in which case, i'd be surprised if a 2.4ghz dual dual-core system doesn't outpace its peers (mainly xeon and ppc970)
     

Share This Page