Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

KhuntienNang

macrumors member
Original poster
Feb 20, 2008
I'm new in objective-c (or programming in general)

so, I was trying out switch statement, say:

Code:
		switch (option){
			case 1:
				statement
				break;
			case 2:
				statement
				break;
			case 3:
				statement
				break;
			default:
				statement
				break;
option is an int type.

the default catches other int besides 123, but it doesnt catch other character (non int)

is there a way to add on the default so that it catches something other than non interger?

lloyddean

macrumors 65816
May 10, 2009
Des Moines, WA
but it doesnt catch other character (non int)

is there a way to add on the default so that it catches something other than non interger?

Since you did say 'character' I'll throw out

Code:
int option = '?';

switch ( option )
{
    case 'a':
        break;
    case 'A':
        break;
    case '?':
        break;
}

Bill McEnaney

macrumors 6502
Apr 29, 2010
Can you your option variable be a character variable instead of an integer variable? That way, if each option number were a digit between, say, '1' and '6', the default clause would catch any character that was outside that range.

mrbash

macrumors 6502
Aug 10, 2008
There are two things you could do. One is to use atoi (stdlib), the other is to use int (iostream).

If you are fairly sure that you are only getting numbers, then atoi is your function.
char letter = '1';
int number = atoi(&letter);
number ->1
If you have a letter say, 'a', you would get 0.

If you want the ascii equivalent of the letter 'a', you would use:

char letter = 'a';
cout << int(letter) << endl;

would print 97.

mrbash

macrumors 6502
Aug 10, 2008
You're taking some potentially serious risks with your "not quite a nul-terminated string" there.

This should be better:

Code:
char letter = '1';
char string[2];
string[0] = letter;
string[1] = 0;