Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Drummer_Photog

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 10, 2020
I am getting Logic Pro X, I used Pro Tools on Windows, Logic is more intuitive. I am a drummer. I make loops to play too and some live drum recording. 5-6 tracks max.

My issue is expense related. I use a 2018 27" for my photography and need to be cost conscious.

I have an array of plug-ins that I use and need SSD HD and at least 16 GB.

Searched refurbished iMacs as far back as late 2013 i5 and up to 2017 i7.

Suggestions on what mac, specs, model, etc? Refurbished retailers?

George

Last edited:

Drummer_Photog

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 10, 2020
Thank you for the info on Loop Back. I am looking for Mac suggestions to use in my DAW with Logic Pro X. Thanks again!

theluggage

macrumors 604
Jul 29, 2011
I use a 2018 27" for my photography and need to be cost conscious.

...I'd have though that existing machine would fit your needs perfectly. The RAM is easy to upgrade if you need it. If the machine has a mechanical hard drive then you can add an external Thunderbolt or USB-C SSD.

Drummer_Photog

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 10, 2020
I can't afford another iMac 2018. I am now using it for Adobe applications. The iMac is in my office and mystudio is in the garage, thus I need a refurbished Mac just to run Logic Pro X. Apple suggested a Mac Mini.

I am searching refurbished Mac machines bur do not know which year or model?

codernova

macrumors member
May 13, 2019
I'd say any Mac with an i5+, 16GB RAM+, 512SSD+ will be adequate, maybe a MAC Mini? 5 simultaneous tracks shouldn't be that heavy of a load and the GPU isn't important.

Starfia

macrumors 6502a
Apr 11, 2011