Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Mac47

macrumors regular
Original poster
May 25, 2016
I’m an online teacher, and I love to be able to spread out my windows so I can see photos, PDFs, Powerpoint slides, etc. while I’m teaching on Zoom.

I currently use a 2017 iMac 5k. It has been a great machine, and I love it. On the other hand, I have two kids doing online school on antiquated 2012 Macbook Airs (11”). I would like to give them my iMac and get a new machine.

I can’t see moving down to a smaller screen, so the current M1 iMac 24” is out of the question.

I am tempted to try a Mac Mini with a 49” 5120 x 1440 monitor. I look at that 49” width and fantasize about how many windows I could strew over it. But I’m worried that the decrease in ppi will be disappointing.

Has anyone made this move? How do you like it?

MikeDr206

macrumors 6502
Oct 9, 2021
My primary work machine is a Mac Mini with a 5K monitor, so essentially equivalent to your iMac.

I visit my mom a couple of weeks at a time every other month. She has a 27 inch Cinema Display, so 2560x1440. So half horizontally wise what you’re looking at getting. I have a 12 inch rMB that I hook up to it.

The first day or so the experiencing in going down from retina to non-retina is a bit jarring. But frankly after that the issue fades into the background. I don’t find MacOS “blurry” at non-retina displays like some others do (still running Big Sur). The only issue is that very small text is harder to read, so I magnify it up.

I can’t recall if your iMac can do external monitors. If so, it may be worthwhile to buy the monitor you’re considering, and put it in front of your iMac to test out the experience. Everyone has their own experience as to this type of issue.

Reactions: Amethyst1

Seiko4169

macrumors member
Jun 18, 2012
England