Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

peteMG

macrumors member
Original poster
Mar 22, 2002
San Francisco, CA
Hi all-

My ol' faithful 800 mhz powerbook seems to have developed a rather serious ailment. It's nearly exactly similar to problems that happened - twice - when it was under AppleCare, and both times it went in, they replaced the motherboard..

(disclaimer/credibility check: I was an apple repair tech for a couple years before I got into programming, so I have a pretty good handle on what's at play in these rather dire situations)

The problem is this. I'd be working on it for some time, and then it would start showing distortion on the LCD. As if every fifth horizontal line gets shifted up and to the side. These videos show it pretty clearly (if a little darkly):

http://pete.metoca.net/tibook/
(apologies for the 5mb, 15 second video, but I took them with my digital camera and since the mac wasn't usable I couldn't recompress them. At least my DSL has ~780kb upstream)

The static would get worse and worse, and then the machine would freeze - no cursor movement, couldn't SSH in, didn't respond to pings. I'd reboot and it'd come up, but with the same static, and then it'd finally just fail to display any video on startup. I could tell that it had booted successfully to the login screen, because I could push the power button, and then Enter, and it'd shut down properly (some hard drive clicking followed by power-down).

So, my theory is that something time-related (heat? short-circuit? static cling?) is causing the video chip to fail, and that after it has failed, it does not register to the rest of the system on startup and the system seems to run without it. Hence the successful booting but still no video on the internal or external display.