Tiger = jump to 512 RAM as standard?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by jessearl, Apr 9, 2005.

  1. jessearl macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    #1
    When Tiger is officially announced, will that cause an automatic increase of all Mac's to 512 megs of RAM standard?
     
  2. Josh396 macrumors 65816

    Josh396

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Location:
    Peoria/Chicago, IL
    #2
    I think it would be the perfect time for Apple to do so if they truly do plan on making 512 standard, which they should.
     
  3. Ambrose Chapel macrumors 65816

    Ambrose Chapel

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #3
    it seems more likely that apple would do this to each product line at its next refresh.
     
  4. timmyb macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #4
    eMacs, iMacs and iBooks are all due for updates in April, (maybe at time of Tiger launch) so 512 will be coming soon. The Power lines already have 512 so the only one remaining is the Mac Mini which could just get a tiny bump when Tiger is out. In any case, you could always just put in another 256 stick.
     
  5. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #5
    Mini's only have 1 RAM slot. It is also better for the future to only have 1 RAM slot occupied. That way you can upgrade later without needing to replace and sell a RAM stick.
     
  6. miloblithe macrumors 68020

    miloblithe

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #6
    I hope this is true. I remember when I got my eMac and I tried using it with 128MB (before installing the 512MB chip I got). Panther was useless on 128. I imagine Tiger won't be much better on 256MB.
     
  7. JasonL macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Location:
    Ware, MA
    #7
    The PM line only has 512MB standard on the upper two configurations. The iMac, and iBook still come standard with 256MB, in addition to the mini.

    As mentioned, the mini also only has 1 slot.

    I would agree that this would be as good a time as any to increase the base amount of RAM. Right now I've got one bad RAM slot, not module, on my PB (which will be fixed under warranty very soon) and I think performance with 512MB is pretty bad. I can't imagine what 256MB must be like. :eek:
     
  8. ReanimationLP macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
    #8
    Haha, THEY BETTER.

    Panther can suck thru 256 MB, and with the way they're talking with Tiger, it will probably eat away 512 MB pretty damn fast. Better go with a gig just for good measure, since now it is dirt cheap too!
     
  9. FelixDerKater macrumors 68000

    FelixDerKater

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
  10. macman81 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Location:
    Pueblo, Colorado, USA
    #10
    Define "enough" memory.

    If I can run the entire Adobe Creative Suite 1 on a 1GHz iBook with 512MB on 10.3, then I think 512MB will suffice as "enough" memory for this release - and most likely the next - of OS X.

    Now if you're running apps like motion, then that's another story...
     
  11. dswoodley macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    #11
    Absurd. My 12in pb does everything I ask of it and more with 512
     
  12. Chip NoVaMac macrumors G3

    Chip NoVaMac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    #12
    makes sense to me. Despite a comment here 512 is more than OK for 80% of the users out there for 10.3.x. That being said, IMO 10.4.x will require even more memory.
     
  13. Platform macrumors 68030

    Platform

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    #13
    They should already have had 512MB across the board :rolleyes:
     
  14. tpjunkie macrumors 65816

    tpjunkie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #14
    256 megs was sufficient for running 10.3, but that was just for panther; run an app and memory would start paging in and out like crazy. The amount of unused RAM while the system was idling was just over 15 MB. Now that I've stuck another half gig in there, it purrs along very nicely.
     

Share This Page