Time Machine Issues! Please Help!

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by jasonrhcp, Feb 11, 2013.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    #1
    I have a new rMBP and i have about 80gb used. Im trying to back it up via time machine but it says that total backup is 3.54gb. That cant be right. How do I get time machine to fully backup??
    Thank you so much!
     
  2. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #2
    My suggestion is that you abandon Time Machine and back up with either CarbonCopyCloner or SuperDuper, instead.

    Either of the above will give you a fully-bootable "clone" of your internal drive, in POFF (plain old finder format). You'll have a backup that is instantly mountable and also bootable -- invaluable to have around in a "moment of extreme need".

    Carbon Copy Cloner can ever replicate the "recovery partition", and it can also "archive" old files (similar to ™).

    CCC is in every way SUPERIOR to Time Machine. I would recommend that you consider it.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    #3
    What Im trying to do is transfer everything from my macbook pro to my mac pro. I dont have a firewire cable. Time machine seemed convenient until that point.
     
  4. macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #4
    As for me Time Machine works like a charm. Make sure you're not excluding folders from backup.

    ----------

    Ahh, try an Ethernet cable.
     
  5. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #5
    The total backup will be a little less than the total data on the drive because TM does not backup certain cache or swap files, but not the difference you are seeing.

    I would stop the TM backup and reformat the external TM destination drive.

    Then reindex Spotlight by dragging Macintosh HD into and then back out of the Spotlight exclusions list in System Preferences. TM uses Spotlight data, and this can often fix it.

    Wait for Spotlight to finish reindexing then restart the machine and try a new TM backup.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    #6
    That did not work.
    Thanks though!
     
  7. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #7
    Okay... one other idea. Let's reset permissions and access control lists (ACL) from Recovery HD.

    Follow these steps.

    Restart your computer from the recovery partition by booting while holding command-r keys both at the same time.

    While in recovery open Disk Utility and run a permissions repair on Macintosh HD. Quit Disk Utility.

    Open Terminal from the Utilities menu. Type in "resetpassword" and select your user account from the drop down menu, then click the Reset button at the bottom of the window in the Reset home folder permissions and ACLs section.

    Quit the Password Utility and go back to the main recovery screen.

    Now hit command-q to quit recovery. Then restart and try Time Machine again.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    #8
    That worked!
    Thank you so much!!
     
  9. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #9
    Excellent!!
     
  10. Guest

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Currently in Switzerland
    #10
    Congrats; it's always great to be able to help others with their Mac issues..!
     

Share This Page