Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

zimtheinvader

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 10, 2005
the capitol
Hello,
I have a dillemma of sorts...I am a mid-college student and am considering selling my 2yr old 12" PB (10.4, G4 1.33, 60GB, 1.25GB) for one of those shiny new Macbooks. -Is this a wise move? I am thinking I could probably sell my PB+ram+Case+Access (-)minus the free ipod (rebate, selling the free ipod,) and get the new MB for a wash.
The pros would be new warranty (PB has expired), brighter screen, isight, frontrow, XP, faster, better (newer) battery, free printer.
The cons would be not so nice KB (imho) glossy screen, no video card, and a little bulkier.
What do you guys think? I do not need the Coreduo2 anyway so I am thinking if they do not upgrade by next week I will sell so I can get the ipod deal.

Option 3 would be to keep my PB until I can save up for a MBP; pros: nicer screen and video card, KB, Con: not great value right now compared to MB, ie. right now a MB+20"+Xbox360 display or MB(Coreduo now)+iMac(later when CD2 is released)... I like the imac+MB idea since I miss having a dedicated desktop ...what do y'all think?

I am weary too, since my brother's new MB was just sent in for repairs... :(

ITASOR

macrumors 601
Mar 20, 2005
Instead of selling the free iPod, just order from Amazon.com and you get a $100 rebate.

xfiftyfour

macrumors 68030
Apr 14, 2006
Clemson, SC
ITASOR said:
Instead of selling the free iPod, just order from Amazon.com and you get a $100 rebate.
With the student discount, the OP would be better off. Same price as Amazon, but you get all the free stuff through Apple (printer + iPod). If he doesn't want the nano, he can sell it and use that "free" money towards the cost of the MB.

ITASOR

macrumors 601
Mar 20, 2005
xfiftyfour said: